MoU signed to institute Kalinga-FCC Awards for Excellence in Journalism

Foreign Correspondents’ Club of South Asia and Kalinga Institute of Industrial MTechnology signed the Memorandum of Understanding for 5 years; exchange4media to assist in organising the Awards

e4m by exchange4media Staff
Published: Feb 20, 2019 1:59 PM  | 3 min read

The Foreign Correspondents’ Club of South Asia (FCC), New Delhi, and the Kalinga Institute of Industrial MTechnology (KIIT), Bhubaneswar, have signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) to institute the Kalinga-FCC Awards for Excellence in Journalism.

The MoU, signed by FCC President S Venkat Narayan and KIIT Founder Prof Achyuta Samanta, is for five years (2019-2023). The KIIT will spend Rs 50 lakh during this period on the awards and their conduct and administration.
Five awards, each worth Rs 1,00,000 in cash, will be presented along with a Medal and Citation to the best entries received in five categories: Print, Television, Radio, Photography and Online.

The Awards will be given each year to journalists picked by the Jury as:
1. Print Journalist of the Year
2. Television Journalist of the Year
3. Radio Journalist of the Year 
4. Photo Journalist of the Year
5. Online Journalist of the Year

The FCC invited Prof Samanta, Founder of the Kalinga Institute of Industrial Technology (KIIT) University and the Kalinga Institute of Social Studies (KISS) University, Bhubaneswar, to collaborate in establishing Annual FCC Awards for Excellence in Journalism to be given to journalists for their work out of India and other countries in South Asia, namely Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka, and published or broadcast in the global media outside the SAARC region.   

Exchange4media will assist the FCC and the KIIT in organizing the Awards. 

The first lot of the Awards will be given out in March for Articles, Photographs, Radio and TV Programmes published or broadcast during January-December 2018. Entries are welcome in all languages, but must be accompanied by an English translation. The same time schedule will be applicable every year. 

A Jury of eminent media professionals will be formed by the FCC and KIIT to judge the entries. Entries should be submitted either by the journalist himself/herself, or nominated by a third person or institution. The awards will be given to individuals, teams or to institutions for articles/ photograph(s)/Radio/TV broadcasts or a candidate’s body of work during the preceding 12 months. 

The entries for a given year (January-December) should reach the FCC by the end of every February the following year. They should be sent in a packet marked ENTRY FOR FCC AWARDS 2019 to The Manager, FCC, AB-19 Mathura Road, Opposite Pragati Maidan Gate # 7, New Delhi-110001. 

However, this year, the entries can be sent to reach the FCC by March 15. 

Juries will be formed each year to judge each category of awards. The majority decision of each jury will be final. The juries will meet two days before the presentation ceremony to pick the winners, and will be present at the award function in New Delhi in the third weekend of March every year. 

KIIT will be represented by Dr Achyuta Samanta’s nominee Raja Ramesh, while the FCC will be represented by its President or his/her nominee(s) to oversee the work involved in the administration of the Awards, attending meetings and assisting the jury. 

Read more news about (internet advertising India, internet advertising, advertising India, digital advertising India, media advertising India)

For more updates, be socially connected with us on
Instagram, LinkedIn, Twitter, Facebook & Youtube