India TV Yuva Awards honours youth icons

Akhilesh Yadav, Ekta Kapoor, Yuvraj Singh, Sonu Nigam, Mary Kom were amongst the award winners

e4m by exchange4media Staff
Updated: Feb 22, 2013 6:51 PM
India TV Yuva Awards honours youth icons

India TV, in its Yuva Awards initiative, honoured youth icons in various categories such as politics, sports, music, television and business, etc.

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav won the award in the politics (male) category. Punjab Governor Shivraj Patil gave Yadav the award. Chhavi Rajawat, a young MBA-educated girl and a sarpanch in Rajasthan village bagged the politics (female) category award.

India TV Chairman and Editor-in-Chief Rajat Sharma, in his welcome address, dedicated the awards as a salute to young men and women who through their grit and determination have inspired people and have shown leadership and excellence with achievements much bigger than their age.

Team India cricketer Yuvraj Singh was given the India TV Yuva Award in the sports category (male) by BJP president Rajnath Singh. Olympic bronze winning Manipur boxer Mary Kom got the award in the sports category (female).

Among TV actors, Pratyusha Banerjee, better known as Anandi in the serial ‘Balika Vadhu’ bagged the best TV actor (female) award. Siddharth Shukla, best known as Collector Saheb in ‘Balika Vadhu’, accepted the best TV actor (male) award from Congress leader Ambika Soni.

Balaji Telefilms promoter Ekta Kapoor bagged the award in the business category (female). She accepted the award from Leader of Opposition in Lok Sabha Sushma Swaraj. Indiabulls founders Sameer Gehlaut and Rajiv Rattan won the award in business category (male). Rajiv Rattan accepted the award from former Team India captain Kapil Dev.
Mamta Sharma won the music category (female), while Sonu Nigam won music category (male) award. Leader of Opposition in Rajya Sabha Arun Jaitley and Home Minister Sushil Kumar Shinde gave the awards to Mamta Sharma and Sonu Nigam respectively.

Three youth icon awards were also given in the special category. External Affairs Minister Salman Khurshid gave the award in special category to Bollywood actor John Abraham. Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit gave the award in special category to TV host Manish Paul. Another special category award was given to Bollywood actor Rani Mukherjee.

Ritu Dhawan, MD and CEO, India TV said, “The young generation of India has shown that they can bring positive change in the mood of the country. With Yuva Awards, we want to acknowledge and salute the budding next generation of India.”

For more updates, be socially connected with us on
WhatsApp, Instagram, LinkedIn, Twitter, Facebook & Youtube

Stay updated with the latest news in the Marketing & Advertising sector with our daily newsletter

By clicking Sign Up, I agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.