29 journalists honoured with Ramnath Goenka Excellence in Journalism Awards

Chief Guest Rajnath Singh speaks of his admiration for Ramnath Goenka at the awards hosted by Indian Express

e4m by exchange4media Staff
Updated: Jan 5, 2019 8:47 AM
goenka awards

The 13th edition of the Ramnath Goenka Excellence in Journalism Awards were held in the national capital on January 4th. Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh, who was the chief guest at the function, handed over the awards to 29 winners—in 18 categories, including print and broadcast—for outstanding work done in 2017. 

In his key note address Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh spoke of his deep admiration for Ramnath Goenka. “The lamp he lit during the Emergency continues to glow. The Indian democracy is indebted to Ramnath Goenka. The line drawn by The Indian Express cannot be erased,” he said. “True journalism strengthens the Indian democracy. There are attempts at times to sensationalise news. I believe if any attempts are made to sensationalise news, then that amounts to insulting news.” 

“Any journalism that seeks to shield any irregularities or corruption cannot be called journalism at all,” Singh said. “Suggestion to media friends: if there is some sort of assault on you, the response should be through your paper. It can be done. Journalism is a barometer of democracy. The more independent journalism is, the healthier democracy will be. The relationship between journalism and people is not ordinary. It is a relationship founded on trust and that is why one should be forever vigilant to ensure that the trust is not broken. If anyone wants to stand with the truth but is fearful, then Ramnath Goenka can be idea inspiration for them.”

Indian Express Chairman and Managing Director Viveck Goenka called Singh a “kindred spirit” and said during the Emergency he had “challenged the erosion of fundamental rights and got our democracy back”. Referring to Singh’s statement made in the aftermath of the attack on Amarnath pilgrims he said: “He has an ability to listen to voices of anger and not be provoked.” 
In the past, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, former President APJ Abdul Kalam, former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan, former vice president Hamid Ansari, former president Pratibha Patil and former chief justice of India P Sathasivam have been chief guests at the awards.
The Express Group instituted the Ramnath Goenka Excellence in Journalism Awards in 2006 as part of the centenary year celebrations of its founder, Ramnath Goenka. Over the years, the awards have become the gold standard of journalism honours in India, the ultimate recognition that every outstanding journalist working in the country searches for today. The awards, which come with a trophy and a reward of Rs 1 lakh to each of the winners, aim to celebrate excellence in journalism, recognise courage and commitment and showcase the outstanding contributions of journalists from across the country.
Link to the full list of winners: http://expressindia.indianexpress.com/ramnath-goenka-foundation/winners2017.html 


Read more news about (internet advertising India, internet advertising, advertising India, digital advertising India, media advertising India)

For more updates, be socially connected with us on
WhatsApp, Instagram, LinkedIn, Twitter, Facebook & Youtube