Businessworld unveils the Indian Multiplex Awards

The Businessworld Indian Multiplex Awards is a pioneering initiative to honour the rapidly expanding industry & cinema exhibition players who have revolutionised the movie business in India

e4m by exchange4media Staff
Updated: Feb 19, 2014 9:03 AM
Businessworld unveils the Indian Multiplex Awards

Businessworld announced its upcoming awards for the Indian multiplex industry, the Businessworld Indian Multiplex Awards, at the recently held IMC Fusion 2014. The Businessworld Indian Multiplex Awards are a first of its kind to create a platform for honouring the rapidly expanding industry that has revolutionised the movie business in India.

The Awards were launched by Manmohan Shetty, who is also the Jury Chairperson, and Annurag Batra, Chairman, GBN Media | Businessworld and Chairman and Editor-in-Chief, exchange4media Group. Speaking at the launch, Shetty said, “Ever since the first multiplex was launched, their numbers have multiplied, and that is one reason why we hear of Rs 300 crore box office collections, all because of the multiplex.”

Businessworld, with its 32-year old history in business journalism, extends itself beyond publishing to create business and industry platforms that are fertile for discussion. Batra commented, “We are not just a magazine brand. It is our mandate to create business communities for initiating dialogues among key players and keep them thriving with relevant activities.” One such endeavour is the Businessworld Indian Multiplex Awards, an initiative to honour the best examples of quality, innovation and growth in the cinema exhibition industry.

Prosenjit Datta, Editor, Businessworld added here, “Multiplexes have changed the movie business in many ways. Their impact on the economics of movie making and distribution has been acknowledged by all. These awards recognise and honour the best in multiplex industry.”

Amit Khanna, Former Chairman, Reliance Entertainment; film director Ramesh Sippy; Academy Award winning sound designer Resul Pookutty; Blaise Fernandes, CEO, Gateway House; Ujwal Nirgudkar, Chairman, SMPTE, India Section; Gaurav Verma, Executive Director, Theatrical Distribution, Studios, Disney UTV; and Mayank Shekhar, noted film critic, journalist and author, are a few names from the eclectic awards Jury that features stalwarts from various fields related to the movie business.

For more updates, be socially connected with us on
WhatsApp, Instagram, LinkedIn, Twitter, Facebook & Youtube