Stringent selection for IMPACT Person of the Year

The three-phased selection process ensures that the entire exercise is air-tight, with no room for any ambiguity

e4m by exchange4media Staff
Updated: Dec 14, 2012 7:08 PM
Stringent selection for IMPACT Person of the Year

Accolades always spur achievement, and vice versa. Just as the Nobles, Oscars, Cannes Lions, Grammys, Abbys and the like are benchmarks of recognition worldwide for the most talented individuals in their respective fields, the world of Advertising, Media and Marketing in India has the IMPACT Person of the Year (IPOY) Award. Instituted by the exchange4media Group in 2005, it aims to felicitate outstanding individual achievement and contribution to the domain in the past one year.

The nominees for IPOY 2012 are Ambika Soni, MP and former Union Cabinet Minister for Information & Broadcasting; Man Jit Singh, CEO, Multi Screen Media (MSM); Punit Goenka, MD & CEO, Zee Entertainment Enterprises (ZEEL); Sanjay Gupta, CEO, Jagran Prakashan (JPL); Vikram Sakhuja, CEO-designate of Maxus Worldwide; and Vineet Jain, MD, Bennett Coleman & Co.

As we gear up for the big IPOY award night to be held in Mumbai on December 21 this year, here’s taking a close look at the selection process, handled by IMRB International. The entire process is divided into three stages:

Phase I: Inviting nominations by way of an industry-wide poll carried through the exchange4media group of publications.

Phase II: The poll data was collected on the IMRB server. All responses received were validated by removal of duplicate votes and data cleaning. The result of all valid responses from the poll, throwing up a list of top contenders, was compiled and sent to IMPACT. The editorial team at IMPACT evaluated the list, and came up with the final list of nominees. IMRB and IMPACT agreed on a set of parameters on which the top contenders would be rated by respondents in the final phase.

Phase III: Final voting by a select few from across the Advertisement, Media and Marketing fraternity, on the basis of personal e-mail invites sent by IMRB. The respondents vote on the nominations – on the basis of the pre-decided parameters – and pick one to three person(s) to be the IPOY. IMRB collates the data, giving due weightage to ranks 1, 2 and 3 and together with IMPACT’s editorial team, analyses it to arrive at the Impact Person of the Year.

Wait for December 21 to know the winner!

Read more news about (internet advertising India, internet advertising, advertising India, digital advertising India, media advertising India)

For more updates, be socially connected with us on
Instagram, LinkedIn, Twitter, Facebook & Youtube