First edition of IMPACT 'Top 30 under 30' list unveiled

The list identifies and celebrates future leaders of the Indian communication industry from creative and media agencies

e4m by Synjini Nandi
Updated: Mar 22, 2013 8:34 PM
First edition of IMPACT 'Top 30 under 30' list unveiled

The first edition of ‘Top 30 under 30’ was unveiled by IMPACT magazine from the exchange4media stable at a glitzy star-studded event in Mumbai on March 21, 2013.

The list identifies and celebrates future leaders of the Indian communication industry from both, creative and media agencies. These young rising stars comprise people who have made a mark on the seniors and clients they deal with.

Commenting on the initiative, Arnab Goswami, Editor-in-chief, Times Now, who was the guest of honour at the event, stated, "We value experience but not spunk. I think the future belongs to the youth and it is important to invest in them. In Times Now, we have appointed people in their 20s in leadership positions. Encouragement of the youth is the answer and the way forward.”

The 'Top 30 under 30' list comprises the following names in alphabetical order:
1. Abhishek Sinha, Leo Burnett
2. Akshay Surendra, Mindshare Fulcrum
3. Ankita Derasaria, MediaCom
4. Arjuna Gaur, BBDO India
5. Bodhisatwa Dasgupta, Grey Worldwide Gurgaon
6. Deepak Nair, DraftFCB Ulka
7. Emmanuel Jeffrey, JWT Bangalore
8. Eugene Rebello, Ogilvy & Mather, Mumbai
9. George Abraham, JWT Bangalore
10. Harsha Vardhan Desireddy, Madison Media
11. Jigar Desai, MediaCom
12. Kamlesh Jangid, Cheil
13. Keegan DMello, BBDO India
14. Megha Ahuja, Maxus Delhi
15. Naren Kaushik M, Happy (Bangalore)
16. Nasheet Shadani, Ogilvy & Mather, Gurgaon
17. Nikhil Mehrotra, Leo Burnett India
18. Piyush Gupta, Leo Burnett
19. Ruchi Shah, DraftFCB Ulka
20. Ryan Mendonca, Ogilvy & Mather
21. Sameet Ali Soni, JWT
22. Samyak Chakrabarty, DDB Mudra Group
23. Sarvesh Uday Raikar, Scarecrow Communications
24. Shirin Johari, DDB Mudra Group
25. Shruti Singh S Sengar, MediaCo
26. Tinaz Daruwalla, Omnicom Media Group
27. Venkatesh Vijaywargi, Mindshare - Fulcrum
28. Vijay Menon, Mindshare
29. Vikash Modi, Maxus  
30. Zarius Captain, MediaCom

According to CVL Srinivas, CEO, GroupM, South Asia, the rules of the game are changing and there is a huge learning that could be derived from the youth and the kids. Keeping this aspect in mind, GroupM has introduced a parallel leadership team Y-Co which would cut through hierarchy and would be the voice of the youth.

A jury of the industry’s biggest experts came together to chalk out the ‘Top 30 under 30’ list. Chaired by Raj Nayak, Chief Executive Officer, Colors of Viacom18, the jury consisted of eminent industry veterans Ajai Jhala, CEO, BBDO India; Ajay Gahlaut, Executive Creative Director, Ogilvy & Mather India; Arun Iyer, National Creative Director, Lowe Lintas & Partners; Anupriya Acharya Leader, Client Leadership, South Asia, Mindshare Fulcrum; Avinash Pandey, COO and CRO, MCCS; Debraj Tripathy, MD, MediaCom India; Gayatri Yadav, Exec Vice President, Marketing and Communication, STAR India; Harish Shriyan, COO, OMD; Kartik Sharma, Managing Partner, Maxus; Lara Balsara, Business Development and Diversification Manager, Madison World; Malvika Mehra, National Creative Director, Grey India; Santosh Padhi, Co-Founder and Chief Creative Officer, Taproot India; Suresh Balakrishna, CEO, BPN Worldwide India; and Vishakha Singh,  Executive Director, Aurora Comms.

Commenting on the 'Top 30 under 30 list', Raj Nayak, Chief Executive Officer, Colors,  Viacom18 stated, “It is a great initiative for the simple reason that it is very important to identify and recognise the future leaders of the country. The jury was also from different fields and well represented. Though it was not an easy task and might not be a 100 per cent representation of the top 30, it is certainly a step in the right direction which will inspire and motivate others to excel in their respective fields.”

The entries were judged on four parameters which were overall entry quality, body of work, communication skill (leading a team or convincing a senior) and industry recognition (awards, recommendation letters)

Each of this eminent jury was felicitated at the event to acknowledge and appreciate their contribution to the industry and also to inspire those who dream to grab the centre stage one day.

For more updates, be socially connected with us on
WhatsApp, Instagram, LinkedIn, Twitter, Facebook & Youtube