Pepper Awards: Popkon wins Agency of the Year, Mathrubhumi awarded Best Advertiser 

Popkon Creatives got 7 silvers and 9 bronzes, Mathrubhumi one gold, 4 silvers and 5 bronze metals & Malayala Manorama bagged one gold in the illustration campaign category

e4m by exchange4media Staff
Updated: May 20, 2019 8:41 AM

The finest work in the world of advertising was awarded at the Pepper Awards held in Kochi on Friday. While Popkon Creatives was selected as Agency of the Year, Mathrubhumi was adjudged the Advertiser of the Year. Advertising stalwart and Madison World Chairman Sam Balsara was the Chief Guest of the 13th Pepper Awards ceremony, which was held at Le Meridien Convention Centre. 

Speaking on the occasion, Sam Balsara, said the growth of digital media has given a new dimension to the advertising industry. The share of digital media in the advertising industry was just 4 per cent 10 years ago and it has now grown to 19 per cent, he said. The advertising sector in India still has a huge potential for growth, Balsara added. 

At the national level, Malayala Manorama bagged one gold in the illustration campaign category, four silvers and one bronze. Popkon Creatives bagged seven silvers and nine bronzes, while Mathrubhumi got one gold, four silvers and five bronze metals. In the Kerala category, Popkon has bagged one gold, two silvers, and three bronze. While Malayala Manorama has got one silver, some of the other medal winners were: TeamOne won one silver and one bronze, Hammer one bronze, Plain Speak took one gold and one bronze, Navarasa won four silver and one bronze, PencilMark took away one silver and Zee Kerala and Black Box took one bronze each. 

In the unpublished category, R. K. Swami won one gold and Mathrubhumi and Red Earth won one bronze each. OPN Advertising and Freeflow Ideas were selected as ‘Best of Chennai’ and ‘Best of Bengaluru’. These categories were introduced for the first time. 

The award ceremony started off with a talk by Rajeev Raja, Founder of BrandMusiq and former National Creative Director of DDB Mudra. He spoke on the need to create Sonic Branding in the digital age and about musical logos created by BrandMusiq.

The winners were selected by a jury comprising Prathap Suthan, Co-Founder and CCO, Bang In The Middle; Raj Nair, CEO and CCO, Madison BMB and Burzin Mehta, Group Creative Director, Ogilvy Mumbai, and Vikram Gaikwad, Co-Founder and CCO, Underdog Communications. 

Read more news about (internet advertising India, internet advertising, advertising India, digital advertising India, media advertising India)

For more updates, be socially connected with us on
WhatsApp, Instagram, LinkedIn, Twitter, Facebook & Youtube