Eoin Morgan named Captain of the Year at ESPNcricinfo Awards 2019

The winners, across the 12 categories, were selected by a jury comprising former cricketers, ESPNcricinfo’s senior editors, writers, and global correspondents

e4m by exchange4media Staff
Updated: Feb 12, 2020 10:39 AM

 ESPNcricinfo announced the winners of the 13th edition of the coveted Annual ESPNcricinfo Awards 2019.

 Eoin Morgan led England to their first World Cup title - a feat that earned him recognition as Captain of the year at the awards. After losing to Sri Lanka and Australia in the tournament, England needed to win four straight games to lift the trophy – which they did, winning the title after a tied thriller against New Zealand.

 The ODI batting performance of the year award went to Ben Stokes for his nerveless performance in the tied Cricket World Cup final. He made an unbeaten 84 in the regulation 50 overs and a further seven in the Super Over.

 Stokes’ epic rearguard in the Headingley Ashes Test lost out narrowly in the Test batting category to Kusal Perera who made the landmark 153 not out against South Africa in Durban to take the title. Sri Lanka were 52 for 3 chasing a steep 304 to win when Kusal came in to bat in the fourth innings. With 9 wickets down and 78 runs to chase, Perera played one of his greatest knocks to see them home.

 Jofra Archer, who was voted the Debutant of the Year, also starred in the World Cup, with three-wicket hauls in five of England's first six games. He finished the tournament as their leading wicket-taker, and took that form into the Ashes series that followed, producing six-fours in two Tests and finishing with 22 wickets at an average of 20.07.

 Matt Henry, whose three-wicket spell in the World Cup semi-final, during which he was almost unhittable, knocked India out of the tournament, won the award for ODI Bowling performance of the year.

 Meg Lanning and Ellyse Perry of Australia won the Women's Batting and Bowling performances of the year awards, respectively. Lanning was consistent with the bat through the year, but it was her unbeaten 133 off 63 balls in the first T20I at Chelmsford, at the time the highest score in women’s T20I cricket, that was her zenith. Perry’s 7 for 22, also against England, were the best ODI bowling figures by an Australian women’s cricketer.

 Sambit Bal, editor-in-chief of ESPNcricinfo and ESPN South Asia, said, “Expectedly, the World Cup, which produced three winners, dominated this year’s awards, but attention was riveted on the Test batting performance of the year, which was a straight shootout between Kushal Perera and Ben Stokes. It was a pity in some ways that there could only be one winner, for both were performances for the ages. But it was heartening that Perera’s innings wasn’t obscured by the high-profile nature of Stokes’ performance, which came in the Ashes.  To us, things like these make the awards the real deal.”

The winners, across the 12 categories, were selected by a jury comprising former cricketers such as Ian Chappell, Ajit Agarkar, Daniel Vettori, Mark Butcher, Michael Hussey, Daryll Cullinan, Russel Arnold, Shahriar Nafees, Isa Guha, Snehal Pradhan and Peter Borren, and ESPNcricinfo’s senior editors, writers, and global correspondents. 

For more updates, be socially connected with us on
WhatsApp, Instagram, LinkedIn, Twitter, Facebook & Youtube