New team to take over BEA, widening of membership base to follow

The election of new office bearers of the Broadcast Editors Association will be completed on August 14

e4m by Saif Ahmad Khan
Published: Jul 19, 2017 7:42 AM  | 2 min read

In an executive committee meeting of the Broadcast Editors Association (BEA) held on July 14, the self-regulatory body deliberated on the election of new office bearers. After thorough discussions, it was decided that a new team will take over the BEA on August 14. “We are initiating this change by developing consensus around the new team,” BEA general secretary NK Singh informed exchange4media. He stressed that the character of the “editor-centric” organisation has been such that all decisions are taken either unanimously or through a broad consensus. 


Efforts are also underway to widen the base of BEA’s membership. The association intends to do so by “incorporating new members” in the form of various editors who are leading the recently launched news channels. One prominent name among these could be of Arnab Goswami whose channel Republic TV recently ran into a feud with the News Broadcasters Association (NBA). The controversy around the usage of multiple logical channel numbers (LCN) took an ugly turn with the aggrieved parties approaching the Delhi High Court, Telecom Regulatory Authority of India and Broadcast Audience Research Council. 


On the other hand, Goswami & company accused other competing networks of using industry bodies to throttle the rise of a new channel. Given the raging disputes within the news broadcast sector, the entry of new-born channels within the ambit of BEA may help in cooling down the high temperatures between legacy media and the perceived disruptors. 


During the course of the BEA’s proceedings, president Shazi Zaman offered to resign from his position owing to a professional switchover. “I have also resigned,” Singh told exchange4media. BEA is presided over by the president who is assisted by one general secretary. There are two vice-presidents besides executive committee members who are nominated by the president. The executive committee is coterminous with the governing council.

Read more news about (internet advertising India, internet advertising, advertising India, digital advertising India, media advertising India)

For more updates, be socially connected with us on
Instagram, LinkedIn, Twitter, Facebook & Youtube