At Forbes India Leadership Awards, PayTM wins Outstanding Startup for the Year while Lupin's Vinita and Nilesh Gupta win 'Entrepreneur for the Year' Award

Yusuf K Hamied – Cipla won the lifetime achievement award at the event yesterday

e4m by exchange4media Staff
Updated: Nov 9, 2016 8:28 AM
At Forbes India Leadership Awards, PayTM wins Outstanding Startup for the Year while Lupin's Vinita and Nilesh Gupta win 'Entrepreneur for the Year' Award

The Forbes India Leadership Awards (FILA), trusted as among India's most prestigious business recognition events, with an emphasis on excellence, innovation and transformational leadership, honoured some of India Inc’s shining lights at a high-profile ceremony on Tuesday. 

The awards across nine categories acknowledged the outstanding contributions of CEOs, entrepreneurs and business leaders who have built enterprises that have had a deep and enduring impact on the economy and the wider society. 

“As chroniclers of entrepreneurial capitalism, Forbes India has been celebrating leadership for years. FILA is a one important way we do this where we honour a set of such inspirational business leaders. Now in its sixth year, the awards celebrate those who, by their actions, have made a difference to their organisations, their employees and also to the business segments in which they operate,” said Sourav Majumdar, Editor, Forbes India. 

The achievements of this year’s winners assume significance since many of the business leaders felicitated have braved difficult local and global economic conditions to steer their organisations towards operational excellence. 

Here are the winners of the Forbes India Leadership Awards 2016: 

Outstanding Startup for the Year: Vijay Shekhar Sharma – Paytm 

Nextgen Entrepreneur for the Year: Pranav Amin & Shaunak Amin – Alembic Pharmaceuticals 

Entrepreneur with Social Impact: P Namperumalsamy – Aravind Eye Care System 

Conscious Capitalist Company for the year: Mahindra Finance 

Best CEO – Multinational Company: Kenichi Ayukawa – Maruti Suzuki India 

Best CEO - Public Sector: Sutirtha Bhattacharya – Coal India 

Best CEO - Private Sector: KBS Anand – Asian Paints 

Lifetime Achievement Award: Yusuf K Hamied – Cipla 

Entrepreneur for the Year: Vinita Gupta & Nilesh Gupta – Lupin 

The process started almost six months ago, with extensive research along qualitative and quantitative parameters. The long list of nominees for each category was narrowed down to a strong set of three to five nominees per category. In late June, a high-powered jury headed by Harsh Mariwala, chairman of Marico, examined the nominations and selected the winners. The other eminent members of the jury were Zia Mody, founder and senior partner at AZB & Partners; Manish Sabharwal, co-founder and chairman of TeamLease Services; Noshir Kaka, managing director of McKinsey India; Sanjay Nayar, CEO of KKR India; and Roopa Kudva, partner at Omidyar Network and managing director of Omidyar Network India Advisors. KPMG, Forbes India’s knowledge partners for the event, helped with the nomination process. 

Read more news about (internet advertising India, internet advertising, advertising India, digital advertising India, media advertising India)

For more updates, be socially connected with us on
WhatsApp, Instagram, LinkedIn, Twitter, Facebook & Youtube