Top Story


Home >> Media - TV >> Article

CNN Young Journalist Award 2005: Aaj Tak’s Ravinder Sharma, Sahara Samay’s Amit Kumar Shrivastava among winners

Font Size   16
CNN Young Journalist Award 2005: Aaj Tak’s Ravinder Sharma, Sahara Samay’s Amit Kumar Shrivastava among winners

CNN International on Thursday announced the winners of the CNN Young Journalist Awards 2005. Aaj Tak’s Ravinder Sharma won the award in the Television category, while Sahara Samay’s Amit Kumar Shrivastava was the runner-up.

In the Print/Online category, freelancer Anuj Chopra from Pune was the winner, whereas Shimaila Matri Dawood of Newsline magazine, Karachi, was declared the runner-up. V H Harishbabu of India Vision Channel, Kochi was the winner in the newly introduced Cameraperson category.

Aaj Tak’s Sharma won the award for the sting operation ‘Tihar Jail Bani Ghoos Mahal’, on the corruption in Delhi’s Tihar jail. Chopra, whose articles have been published in several national and international newspapers, won the prize for his story, ‘No Entry, We are the Meat Nazis’. The article portrays how in different parts of Mumbai, housing societies are shunning non-vegetarians and how a recent Supreme Court judgement upholding the right of co-oporative societies to restrict membership to their community, could institutionalise insularity.

The Cameraperson award winner, Harishbabu, won the prize for ‘Oru vadakkan ona kazcha’, a feature based on the folklore of Malabar tradition in north Kerala.

The best entries were selected by panel of eminent jurists from the field of media and journalism, including Dr Paranjoy Guha Thakurta, Director, School of Convergence; Dr Muhammad Saffiq Jullandhry, eminent columnist and professor of mass communication at the University of Punjab, Lahore; Nisar Ahmad Zuberi, retired professor and former Director, Pakistan Advertising Institute, Karachi; Shashi Kumar, Chairman, Asian College of Journalism; Omkar Goswami, Chairman, CERG Advisory; and Satinder Bindra, Senior International Correspondent, CNN International for both Print/ Online and Television categories.

Niret Alva, President, Miditech and the CNN New Delhi bureau team were the judges for the Cameraperson of the Year category.

Speaking on the occasion, Jill Dougherty, Managing Editor, CNN International Asia Pacific, said, “CNN launched the Young Journalist Award to reward and honour promising young journalists in India and Pakistan. We at CNN are very pleased with the number and the quality of responses that we have received from India and Pakistan over the past three years and hope that we are able to continue our pursuit of acknowledging and honouring journalistic excellence. I am particularly glad that to mark CNN’s 25th Anniversary, we introduced the special category, Cameraperson of the Year this year.”

Launched in 2003, CNN Young Journalist Award aims to reinforce the importance of a journalist’s role and recognise journalistic talent to promote quality journalism.


Vijay Mansukhani, speaks to exchange4media about the resurgence of Onida, the scope of growth of consumer electronics market in India and the reasons why Indian consumer electronics brands don’t compete on a global scale

Projjol Banerjea opens up about hiring Anne Macdonald and GroupM's Rob Norman, and the brand's new identity

Meera Iyer tells exchange4media that in FY 2016/17, bigbasket clocked a revenue of Rs 1,400 crore. The online supermarket currently stands at 70,000 orders a day, with operations in 25 cities.

CMO, Kashyap Vadapalli on the start-up’s marketing play, why it has decided to stay away from IPL and response to its furniture rental apps

Ushering the launch with a campaign titled ‘The New Way to Get Rich’ showcasing how technology gets millennials closer to their financial dreams

Ogilvy and Love Matters conceptualised a campaign that aimed to change the conversation and imagery that is associated with the LGBTQ community and lesbians in particular