Top Story


Home >> Media - Others >> Article

Shyam Steel & Candid Communications hold first edition of Excellence in Journalism Awards in Kolkata

Font Size   16
Shyam Steel & Candid Communications hold first edition of Excellence in Journalism Awards in Kolkata

Shyam Steel Industries Ltd, in association with Candid Communication, held the first ever Excellence in Journalism Awards in Eastern India in Kolkata on September 20. Shyam Steel Industries and Candid Communication have entered into a contract for 10 years for this event.

Veteran journalist and renowned author Moti Nandi was conferred the Lifetime Achievement Award. Chief Guest at the event, Information & Broadcasting Minister Priyaranjan Dasmunsi, handed over the award to Nandi.

Padmashree and well-known author Amitabha Choudhury; Dr RP Goenka, Chairman, CESC Ltd; Biswanath Dutta, former President of BCCI; filmmaker Gautam Ghosh; and Bengali author Samaresh Majumdar were the jury members. The Excellence in Journalism Awards Committee comprised veteran journalists Tarun Ganguly, Jayanta Sarkar, Ananta Jana, Raj Mithulia and photo journalist Subrata Patronobis.

Awards were given away in categories like general, business, sports, lifestyle, photography, television and special categories. Prize money for all the awards was Rs 15,000, while the Lifetime Achievement Award carried a prize money of Rs 25,000, in addition to a memento and a Certificate of Honour. There were a total 14 awards.

Lalit Beriwala, Director, Shyam Steel Industries, said, “These awards have been instituted as a tribute to the profession of journalism. At Shyam Steel, we feel that this noble profession deserves to be lauded and commended. These Awards are our small way to pay tribute to this quintessential profession and honour the brilliance of the revered journalists, who have been responsible for creating wealth of information and news.”

The Award Winners

Best Journalist General (English) Award went to Subhro Maitra, The Times of India (Malda). Best Journalist General (Bengali) Award went to Biswajit Das and Debasish Dasgupta (Bartaman), and for Hindi in the same category, the Award went to Archana Sharma (Sanmarg) and Kripa Sankar Chaubey (Hindustan).

Best Journalist Business (English) was given to Sambit Saha (The Telegraph); Best Journalist Lifestyle (English) went to Pratim Das Gupta (The Telegraph); and Best Journalist Lifestyle (Bengali) went to Alok Prasad Chattopadhyay (Aajkaal).

Best Journalist Award for Sports (English) went to Subhro Niyogi (The Times of India) and Dhiman Sarkar (Hindustan Times); and Best Journalist Sports (Bengali) went to Gautam Bhattacharya (Ananda Bazar Patrika).

Best Photo-Journalist (News) went to Abhijit Mukherjee (The Asian Age) and Best Photo-Journalist (Feature) went to Rajib De (The Statesman). Subhankar Chakraborty (Hindustan Times) was awarded the Best Photo-Journalist (Sports) Award.

Sougata Mukhopadhyay (CNN-IBN) and Saptarshi Som (24 Ghanta) were jointly awarded the Best Television Journalist Award. The Best Television Cameraman Award was given to Debasish Nandy (CNN-IBN).


Vijay Mansukhani, speaks to exchange4media about the resurgence of Onida, the scope of growth of consumer electronics market in India and the reasons why Indian consumer electronics brands don’t compete on a global scale

Projjol Banerjea opens up about hiring Anne Macdonald and GroupM's Rob Norman, and the brand's new identity

Meera Iyer tells exchange4media that in FY 2016/17, bigbasket clocked a revenue of Rs 1,400 crore. The online supermarket currently stands at 70,000 orders a day, with operations in 25 cities.

CMO, Kashyap Vadapalli on the start-up’s marketing play, why it has decided to stay away from IPL and response to its furniture rental apps

Ushering the launch with a campaign titled ‘The New Way to Get Rich’ showcasing how technology gets millennials closer to their financial dreams

Ogilvy and Love Matters conceptualised a campaign that aimed to change the conversation and imagery that is associated with the LGBTQ community and lesbians in particular