Top Story


Home >> Media - Others >> Article

Ratan Tata, Laloo Yadav among nominees for CNN-IBN Indian of the Year Award

Font Size   16
Ratan Tata, Laloo Yadav among nominees for CNN-IBN Indian of the Year Award

CNN-IBN has announced the list of nominees for three of the six categories of its CNN-IBN India of the Year Award. Six prominent personalities from the disciplines of sports, business and politics have been shortlisted by the Judiciary Council in concurrence with the TV18 Editorial Group. The award ceremony will be held on February 6, 2007.

The noteworthy personalities from the business category include Ratan Tata – for putting India on the global map in terms of acquisitions; Tulsi Tanti, Head of Suzlon, which has risen to become a wind energy powerhouse of the world; Mukesh Ambani – for fuelling a retail revolution in the making; Baba Kalyani – for putting India on the world map in forging, becoming one of the largest players; Anand Mahindra – for successfully creating and sustaining entrepreneurial initiatives; Air Deccan’s Capt Gopinath – for successfully making the dream of flying a reality for average middle class Indians.

The nominees for Politician of the Year include Prime Minister Manmohan Singh for successfully keeping the economy on a positive track and pushing forward the nuke deal with US; Buddhadeb Bhattacharya, Chief Minister of West Bengal, for winning a record term for the Leftists and redefining the Left ideology; M Karunanidhi, Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu, for being the comeback man of the year; Nitish Kumar, Chief Minister of Bihar, for humbling the strong man of Bihar and then battling to change the image of a condemned state; Laloo Yadav, Railway Minister for turning his moment of political adversity into an opportunity and turning around the railways; and Narendra Modi, Chief Minister of Gujarat for ensuring the state continues to be one of the most favoured investment destinations.

The aspirants for in sports category include Jeev Milkha Singh – for being the first Indian and Asian golfer to win the biggest event of the European tour; shooter Jaspal Rana –for being the Golden Boy of Indian shooting at the Doha Asian Games; Leander Paes – for being the first Indian to win all four Grand Slams in tennis doubles; Saina Nehwal – for being the latest Indian sporting sensation in badminton; Anil Kumble – for becoming the first Indian to take 500 wickets in cricket; Mahendra Singh Dhoni – for being the find of the year for Indian cricket.

Rajdeep Sardesai, Editor-in-Chief, CNN-IBN and IBN7, said, “With the generation of the nominee list for the politics, business and sports categories, we have taken our first step in short-listing all those that have made India proud in 2006. These candidates have been chosen based on the noteworthy contributions they have made in their respective fields. May the best man or woman win.”


Shantanu Gangane says OTT platform Viu plans around 20+ originals and is all set to enter the Tamil market with a mix of syndicated and original content

Co-founder and CEO of Britzo launched IVVO smartphone under the ‘Make in India’ program

Sidharth Gupta, Co-founder, Treebo talks about their outdoor campaign ‘Perfect stay or don’t pay’, what prompted this bold advertising move, its targeting, and the metrics that the brand utilizes to measure the efficacy of such a campaign

Vijay Mansukhani, speaks to exchange4media about the resurgence of Onida, the scope of growth of consumer electronics market in India and the reasons why Indian consumer electronics brands don’t compete on a global scale

Co-founder and CEO of Britzo launched IVVO smartphone under the ‘Make in India’ program

“Hate speech targeting journalists is shared and amplified on social networks, often by troll armies,” the report read while stating the reason for drop in India’s rank.

We take a look at travel company, MakeMyTrip’s ad with its brand ambassadors – actors Ranveer Singh and Alia Bhatt which has garnered the brand 4,239,789 views on YouTube