Top Story


Home >> Media - Others >> Article

CNN-IBN on the lookout for the ‘Indian of the Year’

Font Size   16
CNN-IBN on the lookout for the ‘Indian of the Year’

As part of celebrations of 60 years of Indian Independence, CNN-IBN is instituting an annual award ‘CNN-IBN Indian of the Year’, which will recognise the Indian/s whose contribution to the country has strengthened the foundation of the society and has helped build Brand India in the process.

The CNN-IBN Indian of the Year will be revealed at a glittering event held in Delhi on February 6, 2007.

The awards will salute the best and the most dynamic Indian icons across six main categories – Politics, Business, Entertainment, Sports, Public Service and NRI. Votes from the public and the Electoral College, both holding equal weightage, will decide the most superlative candidate to be the Indian of the Year.

Announcing the awards, Rajdeep Sardesai, Editor-in-Chief, CNN-IBN and IBN 7, said, “We at CNN-IBN feel that many Indians and their accomplishments often go unnoticed and so we took it upon ourselves to create an award that would do just the contrary. The CNN-IBN Indian of the Year award will not only recognise, but also felicitate such achievers. The sheer credibility of the channel as well as the involvement of great personalities in the thorough selection process will lend immense authority to this title.”

The Judiciary council in concurrence with the TV 18 editorial group will undertake the preliminary step of generating a list of prospective nominees for each category. The Council is an elite club comprising five Padma awardees – Padma Shri Geet Sethi, six times World Billards Champion; Padma Vibhushan Soli Sorabjee, former Attorney General of India; Padma Bhushan Nandan Nilekani, CEO of Infosys Technologies; Padma Bhushan Deepak Parekh, Chairman of HDFC; and Padma Shri Kiran Bedi, a Magsaysay Award recipient.

Electing winners for each group will be a three-tier process involving the Judiciary Council, the Electoral College and the citizens of India. The Electoral College, composed of 250 eminent citizens, each recognised in their respective fields, will vote for their chosen aspirant. The process of Vox Populi will be conducted simultaneously through two means – for online casting of the citizen’s franchise, and 2622 for voting through SMS.


Mayank Pareek, President, Passenger Vehicle Business Unit, Tata Motors, on their three-year association with IPL where they will promote their new model Tata Nexon

Vikas Sharan, shares Regalix's vision and mission, and how the company has progressed over the years since its inception in 2004 with the ever-evolving technologies

Larraine Criss on the launch of MainAd's flagship proprietary technology, Logico by partnering with Google and how they are going to expand in and explore the Indian market

Arati Singh, Channel Head, NDTV Good Times, opens up on how she loves to go on adventurous trips on a typical weekend.

The publishing giant could not find an appropriate replacement for ex CEO, Vivek Khanna's position

Kranti Gada has been promoted as the Chief Operating Officer from that of Senior Vice President-New Business Development

In a letter, various employee associations of AIR and DD have requested the Government to explore the possibility of payment of salary directly from the I&B Ministry