Top Story


Home >> Media - Others >> Article

25 nominees for ‘impact Person of the Year 2007’; award night on December 20, 2007

Font Size   16
25 nominees for ‘impact Person of the Year 2007’; award night on December 20, 2007

‘impact’, India’s leading media, advertising and marketing weekly from the exchange4media Group, has announced the list of nominees for its annual award, the ‘impact Person of the Year’. In its third edition, the award has 25 nominees, which have been arrived at after two phases of rigorous activity.

This year also sees ACNielsen coming in as the research partner. In the last two years, TNS was the research agency on this entity. On December 20, 2007, the award night, the winner will be announced at a ceremony in Mumbai.

In keeping with the philosophy of the property -- which is a poll of, by and for industry practitioners across media, advertising and marketing -- the list of nominees has been suggested and short-listed by industry practitioners themselves.

In 2005, Peter Mukerjea of INX (then with Star India) won the title in its inaugural edition. The industry chose CNN-IBN’s Rajdeep Sardesai for the title in 2006. Both the past winners find themselves among the list of nominees this year too.

The 2007 short-list has been expanded to 25 nominees, because of the marginal difference in points between several nominees in phase two of the process, which involved short-listing by a large panel of industry leaders. In Phase one, the industry was invited through an open-ended question to suggest their nominees and give their reason for the same.

Anurag Batra, Editor-in-Chief and Publisher, exchange4media Group, said, “We found that the opinion among those who short-listed nominees from phase 1 to phase 2 was clearly divided on several of the nominees. As we move to phase 3, where people will choose the winner and rank them, an even larger base and weighted scores will help us arrive at a winner. At this stage, we did not want to exercise editorial judgment and interrupt or restrict the choice that the industry is making. The ‘impact Person of the Year’ is, by definition, chosen by the industry. This larger base of nominees will help them do just that. We are only the medium.”

Among the nominees this year are some heavyweight industrialists, too, whose brands’ performances and their forays into the media space seem to have impressed the senior industry professionals who voted. Joining stalwarts in the media, marketing and advertising universe this year are Anil Ambani of ADAG and the flamboyant Vijay Mallya of the UB Group.

Retail king Kishore Biyani of Future Group is on the list, too, perhaps signalling the arrival of retail as a huge influencer of brands and media in the days to come. Underlining this is the presence of another leader from the Future stable, Future Brands' Santosh Desai, among the nominees.

Among the media buying and planning fraternity, Madison World's Sam Balsara finds himself on the list this year. From the creative agencies' side, O&M's Piyush Pandey, Lowe's R Balakrishnan and JWT's Colvyn Harris are among nominees for the second year running. Joining them this year is McCann Erickson's Prasoon Joshi, whose commercial has propelled India up the Gunn Report.

From among media owners, the heads of most large media houses have found favour among the industry in phase 2 of the polling. ZEEL's Subash Chandra, Sun Network's Kalanidhi Maran, BCCL's Vineet Jain, Network 18's Raghav Behl and HT Media's Shobhana Bhartia have also made it to the list of nominees for the second year running.

Also among nominees for the second year in a row is's Sanjeev Bikchandani.

Making an impact on the list of nominees this year are NDTV's Prannoy Roy, UTV's Ronnie Screwvala, Network 18's Haresh Chawla, Tehelka's Tarun Tejpal and Nimbus' Harish Thawani. Pradeep Guha has also found his place on the list of nominees, possibly driven by the rise of Zee TV in the last year.

The Vodafone transition seems to have found favour among industry professionals, and is reflected in Harit Nagpal's inclusion in the list. Last but not the least is veteran automotive chief Jagdish Khattar of Maruti, who despite having put in his papers, has been picked by the industry among the top 25 people that made an impact in 2007.

(The nominees have been listed in random order)


Vijay Mansukhani, speaks to exchange4media about the resurgence of Onida, the scope of growth of consumer electronics market in India and the reasons why Indian consumer electronics brands don’t compete on a global scale

Projjol Banerjea opens up about hiring Anne Macdonald and GroupM's Rob Norman, and the brand's new identity

Meera Iyer tells exchange4media that in FY 2016/17, bigbasket clocked a revenue of Rs 1,400 crore. The online supermarket currently stands at 70,000 orders a day, with operations in 25 cities.

CMO, Kashyap Vadapalli on the start-up’s marketing play, why it has decided to stay away from IPL and response to its furniture rental apps

Meanwhile Radio City and Radio Mirchi ruled Bangalore and Kolkata respectively

Pankaj Belwariar, who recently resigned from the post of Vice President Marketing at Sakal Media Group, has now joined Rajasthan Patrika as the Head of Marketing in North and East region.

A look at Vivo’s ad campaign with their all-new brand ambassador Aamir Khan, which has fetched them a whopping 21 million views on YouTube