No TRP and no advertising is bigger than national interest: Kalli Purie

India Today Group bagged 19 awards in various categories at enba 2019

e4m by exchange4media Staff
Updated: Feb 18, 2019 9:14 AM

At enba 2019, India Today Group bagged 19 awards in various categories. The media house won both the title categories, with Aaj Tak winning Best Hindi News Channel of the Year and India Today TV securing the Best English News Channel of the Year.


“For our 25 crore viewers, Aaj tak is not just a news channel, it is a mission, a movement and an inspiration. No TRP, no advertising and no political party is bigger than the national interest. And I want to retiterate that we will do our duty with total responsibility and maintain the trust which our viewers have shown in us,” said Kalli Purie, Vice Chairperson, India Today Group.


Rahul Kanwal and Anjana Om Kashyap were awarded best anchors (English and Hindi respectively). India Today TV's Shiv Aroor was adjudged the Best Reporter - English for his coverage of Karnataka's Cauvery and Kolar issues.


"These awards are a testament to the exceptional standards of journalism upheld by Aaj Tak and India Today TV teams. We promise to live by our legacy of trust and integrity. Like always, we would like to accept these awards with a promise that the best is yet to come," Purie said.


Purie further said, "This award for India Today is a real honour. To me, this award is for upholding the gold standard of journalism. And for staying away from loud noisy angry instant opinion. We are not in the business of two-minute journalism. That's the easy road. Because though we are all entitled to our private opinion, no one is entitled to their own private facts. For me and my team, facts are our religion and we present them and treat them with utmost care. Opinion, no matter how beautifully dressed, is just not legitimate journalism.”




For more updates, be socially connected with us on
WhatsApp, Instagram, LinkedIn, Twitter, Facebook & Youtube