India Today Group wins big at ENBA awards, NDTV 24x7 English channel of the year

Aaj Tak and NDTV 24X7 were accorded the News Channel of the Year award in the respective language category

e4m by exchange4media Staff
Updated: Feb 12, 2018 8:58 AM

At the 10th edition of the exchange4media News Broadcasting Awards (ENBA), held in a glittering ceremony in Noida, Aaj Tak continued its winning streak in eight categories including Best Hindi News Channel, Best Anchor (Shweta Singh), Best News Coverage National (Demonetisation) and International (‘Iraq Mein Sabse Badi Talash’) and Best News Producer (Mukul Mishra). Similarly NDTV 24X7 secured News Channel of the year in English.

Aaj Tak’s sister channel India Today TV followed it with five honors including Best Anchor (Rahul Kanwal), Best News Coverage International (‘Missing in Mosul’) and Best Current Affair Programs (‘Newsroom’). ABP News claimed three awards including Best Current Affairs Programme for ‘Ghanti Bajao,’ Best Indepth series for ‘Gandhigiri’ and Best Video Editor for Dharmendra Kumar Paswan. 
Speaking about the win, Aroon Purie, Chairman & Editor-in-chief of India Today

Group said, “I’m delighted that India Today channel has won the awards for the

best programme and the best anchor and many other awards. It is a great tribute

to the editorial excellence that we practice at the India Today group and I

congratulate the team for winning these awards.”

 “This award is a

badge of honour for us. It is a vindication of our journalism without fear in

extremely difficult times. I like to thank the jury and Anurag Batra and the

whole team at exchange4media and team NDTV and our viewers who have supported

us through thick and thin”, added Sonia Singh, Editorial Director, NDTV.

CNBC TV18 and its sister channel CNBC Awaaz were accorded with respective English and Hindi Business News Channel of the Year.

Commenting on the win, Alok Joshi, Managing Editor, CNBC Awaaz & CNBC Bajar

said, “When it comes to business news we don’t think we have any serious

challenger. This win has just proven that. The credit for this win goes to our

team, the viewers and most importantly to the ENBA jury which appreciated our


It wasn’t a surprise when Faye D’ Souza from Mirror Now who’s also called the rising star of Indian TV news, took home the News Television Editor-in-Chief of the year and Best Anchor. In fact the latter was a jury award. Meanwhile Supriya Prasad of Aaj Tak and India Today claimed News Television Editor-in-Chief of the Year (Hindi) for her exemplary work. Sandeep Hans of News 9 was awarded the Young Professional of the Year (Editorial- English/Hindi).

There was a jury award in Best Anchor for Sayeed Ansaari of Aaj Tak (Hindi). There was a similar award presented to Sreeja Ms For Anna Bhagya Scam Coverage in the category of Best Continuing Coverage by a Reporter (English).

ENBA celebrates the success of television news professionals across 33 different categories. Standing true to its reputation, ENBA generated an enormous response from the broadcast news industry.

The Jury this year was chaired by Dr. Nasim Zaidi, Former Chief Election Commissioner of India. The other members of the jury included: Suresh Narayanan Chairman & Managing Director, Nestle India; Ashish Bhasin, Chairman & CEO South Asia, Deutsu Aegis Network; Padma Shri Alok Mehta, Journalist; Abhishek Mehrotra, Deputy Editor, Samachar4media; GVL Narsimha Rao, National Spokeperson, BJP; Dr. Harbeen Arora, Global Chairperson, Women Economic Forum; K G Suresh, Director General, Indian Institute of Mass Communication; Puneet Ahluwalia, Managing Partner, NWS; Rakesh K Shukla, MD, Scope India Pvt. Ltd; Raghav Chadha, National Treasurer & National Spokeperson, AAP; Shivjeet Kullar, Founder, NFX Digital; Sumit Sawhney, CEO & MD, Renault India; Vinod Sharma, Political Editor Hindustan Times; and Sunil Kumar , President, Businessworld.

Read more news about (internet advertising India, internet advertising, advertising India, digital advertising India, media advertising India)

For more updates, be socially connected with us on
WhatsApp, Instagram, LinkedIn, Twitter, Facebook & Youtube