Vineet Jain is IMPACT Person of the Year 2013

The Times Group MD has been conferred with the Award at a glittering ceremony in Mumbai on Dec 6. Jain wins the Award for his industry-shaping initiatives that have redefined media consumption in the digital age

e4m by exchange4media Staff
Published: Dec 7, 2013 8:52 AM  | 4 min read
Vineet Jain is IMPACT Person of the Year 2013

Vineet Jain, Managing Director, Times Group, has been adjudged IMPACT Person of the Year 2013 at a glittering ceremony in Mumbai on December 6. The Award has been instituted by the exchange4media Group to recognise excellence in the Advertising, Media and Marketing domain. Jain wins the Award for his industry-shaping initiatives that have redefined media consumption in the digital age, setting a benchmark with young and vibrant media products and leading the paradigm shift to adoption of technology in the media & entertainment industry.

Union Law Minister Kapil Sibal, the Chief Guest at the award ceremony, handed over the trophy and citation to Jain. Addressing the distinguished gathering, Sibal said, “Leaders in the media & entertainment industry and various other platforms need to understand that the one thing they must cherish and protect is ‘the diversity which is at the heart of the idea of India’.”

On winning the award, Jain said, “While I am delighted at being voted the IMPACT Person of the Year, I accept this on behalf of my brother Samir Jain, Vice Chairman, and on behalf of the Times Family.” He added, “The centre of our universe has and will always be our readers, listeners and viewers. We have no political masters; nor do we have any hidden agenda. If we take anybody’s side, it is that of our readers, listeners and viewers. Editorial views on all our platforms are aimed at leading opinion and driving change. This has become a habit in our Group. We can, with some modesty, claim that governments, legislatures and even courts have time and again taken cognizance of our views and acted on them. We do not seek power or influence, but we do want to use all our media platforms to do good.”

Industry leaders were all praise for the IMPACT Person of the Year winner. Raj Nayak, CEO, Colors remarked, “The Award is well deserved. Vineet had a belief and the vision of the future where he invested. That is the most outstanding parameter. His belief has taken the Times Group to a new level.”

Arvind Sharma, President, AAAI added here, “People see an idea and say that is a thing of the future. Vineet, on the contrary, envisioned the future. He has laid down the pillars in which integration is likely to happen from now. It’s an example of the leader.”

The award ceremony was preceded by a high-power panel discussion on ‘Promoting democracy through a free and strong media’ with Union Law Minister Kapil Sibal; Prasoon Joshi, well known lyricist and Executive Chairman & CEO of McCann World Group (India); and Anil Dharker, eminent writer and columnist, as panellists. The moderator for the discussion was Gurbir Singh, President, Press Club, Mumbai and Senior Associate Editor, BusinessWorld.

The other nominees for the Award this year were CVL Srinivas, CEO, GroupM South Asia; nominated for leading the company into winning new businesses and launching several initiatives in digital, content, experiential marketing and analytics; Bharat Patel, Former Chairman, ISA & Hemant Bakshi, Chairman, ISA, for honing the reputation of the ISA as a credible, pro-active body working for a better environment in the industry; Punit Goenka, MD & CEO, Zee Entertainment Enterprises Limited (ZEEL); for introducing the network to the world and playing a crucial role in the industry’s paradigm shift towards digitization and setting up BARC; Rahul Sharma, Co-founder, Micromax Informatics Limited, for helming the transformation of the 13-year-old start-up from a supplier of parts to Nokia to being one of the most consumed mobile and tablet brands in India; Rajan Anandan, Managing Director, Google India, for working relentlessly to build Google’s search business and the online video platform YouTube in the country and Sameer Suneja, Global CEO, Perfetti Van Melle, for spearheading the brand’s high growth, by taking risks with innovative product positioning and cutting-edge ad campaigns.

The selection process for IMPACT Person of the Year 2013 was handled by IMRB International on the basis of industry-wide polls.

Annurag Batra, Chairman and Editor-in-Chief, exchange4media Group remarked, “The IMPACT Person of the Year Award in the last nine years has come to be synonymous with leadership and achievement at a scale that transforms our industry.”

Past winners of the IPOY award include Ambika Soni, former Minister for Information & Broadcasting (2012); Agnello Dias, Founder, Taproot India and Haresh Chawla, then Group CEO, Network18 and Viacom18  (2011); Uday Shankar, CEO, STAR India (2010); Rajesh Kamat, then CEO of Colors (2009); Raghav Bahl, Founder, Network18 and Lalit Modi, former IPL Commissioner (2008); Dr Vijay Mallya, Chairman, UB Group (2007); Rajdeep Sardesai, Editor-in-Chief, CNN-IBN (2006); and Peter Mukerjea, then CEO of STAR India Network (2005).

IMPACT Person of the Year, 2013 had Colors as the presenting partner, and Chitralekha, Comedy Central and Godrej Properties as associate partners.

Read more news about (internet advertising India, internet advertising, advertising India, digital advertising India, media advertising India)

For more updates, be socially connected with us on
Instagram, LinkedIn, Twitter, Facebook & Youtube