Top Story


Home >> Marketing >> Article

IMPACT Person Of The Year 2013 to be announced today!

Font Size   16
IMPACT Person Of The Year 2013 to be announced today!

The countdown for the highly awaited and coveted IMPACT Person Of The Year (IPOY) is finally over. The year’s IPOY winner will be unveiled at a glittering ceremony tonight, December 6, at the ITC Grand Central, Lower Parel, Mumbai. Union Minister for Law and Justice, Communication and Information Technology, Kapil Sibal will be the chief guest at the event.

Each year, the award is given to a person or group of people who have made maximum impact on and have influenced the industry through their contributions to the media, marketing and advertising world.

As we near the final announcement, we asked people across the media fraternity what they think about the award and this year’s nominees.

Commenting on IPOY and the nominees, Sunil Lulla, MD and CEO, Times Television Network said, “It is good to see the names that have been showcased in the past years. I think they have all been very deserving and I am glad that exchange4media Group puts this together to showcase the best names in the media industry.”

Nandini Dias, CEO, Lodestar UM feels that it is a really tough decision to award IPOY as the awards hone it down to a single person in the industry. “There are different people across different domains and verticals, across various media, and to come down to a single person takes quite a bit of guts and gumption. The very fact that IMPACT is trying to hone on every year to a single person is kudos to them,” she added.

Neeraj Roy, MD and CEO, Hungama Digital said, “IPOY is a wonderful initiative that recognises leaders year on year. This year too the line-up of nominees is wonderful, and I wish them all the very best.”

Talking about the award property as a reputed one, Shubhranshu Singh, Marketing Director, India and South Asia, Visa stated, “There are awards a-plenty, but what matters is the social recognition attached to it. It is evident for everybody to see that there is mass consensus, that there is a fair, transparent process, and the way in which the choices have been made. With the people who have been rewarded in the past, nobody can dispute their significance and clearly above all, contribution in that particular period of time; so it has recognition from the community of stakeholders who genuinely matter. Congratulations to the IMPACT team for making it such a wonderful property.”

Commenting on the nominations, Karthi Marshan, Executive Vice President and Head – Group Marketing, Kotak said, “Properties like this which acknowledge and celebrate professional and individual accomplishment are certainly important. I commend IMPACT for making the effort. I think every candidate on the shortlist deserves to be win. I have voted for my choice, and I wish them all luck.”

The nominees for this year’s Impact Person of the Year Award (in no particular order) are CVL Srinivas, CEO, GroupM South Asia – nominated for leading the company into winning new businesses and launching several initiatives in digital, content, experiential marketing and analytics; Bharat Patel, Former Chairman, ISA and Hemant Bakshi, Chairman, ISA – for honing the reputation of the ISA as a credible, pro-active body working for a better environment in the industry; Punit Goenka, MD and CEO, Zee Entertainment Enterprises Limited (ZEEL) – for introducing the network to the world and playing a crucial role in the industry’s paradigm shift towards digitisation and setting up BARC; Rahul Sharma, Co-founder, Micromax Informatics – for helming the transformation of the 13-year-old start-up from a supplier of parts to Nokia to being one of the most consumed mobile and tablet brands in India; Rajan Anandan Managing Director, Google India – for working relentlessly to build Google’s search business and the online video platform YouTube in the country; Sameer Suneja, Global CEO, Perfetti Van Melle – for spearheading the brand’s high growth, by taking risks with innovative product positioning and cutting-edge ad campaigns; and Vineet Jain Managing Director, Times Group – for transforming the company into a highly regarded media conglomerate, with substantial properties in print, radio, television, digital and new media.

Tags IPOY IMPACT Person of the Year CVL Srinivas Bharat Patel Hemant Bakshi Punit Goenka Rahul Sharma Rajan Anandan Sameer Suneja Vineet Jain Sunil Lulla Nandini Dias Neeraj Roy Shubhranshu Singh Karthi Marshan

Rishi Pratim Mukherjee finds his eternal peace at home on a typical weekend by reading his all time favourite books or simply switching off

Prashant Puri, Co-Founder and CEO of Adlift, talks about his journey from being the company’s co-founder to an investor and also tells us how automation will soon take the top spot in every marketer's list

Shikha Kapur, CMO- ‎Fox Star Studios, speaks on the evolution of digital marketing in the organisation

Mayank Pareek, President, Passenger Vehicle Business Unit, Tata Motors, on their three-year association with IPL where they will promote their new model Tata Nexon

According to media reports, the new logo will not be very different from the existing one and the changes may not be very visible

Visual highlights from the seventh edition of IMPACT’s 50 Most Influential Women event held in Mumbai on Thursday 22nd March.

The FIR was filed by the police after BARC India’s vigilance team found out that the details of the households where BARC India’s BAR-O-Meters are installed were compromised