Top Story


Home >> Marketing >> Article

Asia Brand Congress 2008: Winners of Awards for Brand Excellence announced

Font Size   16
Asia Brand Congress 2008: Winners of Awards for Brand Excellence announced

Day one of the Asia Brand Congress 2008 concluded on a jubilant note with Awards for Brand Excellence given out to some of the best brands and marketers. The two-day Congress is being held in Mumbai on September 25-26. The event is presented by Times Now, while is the online media partner and Pitch and Impact are the trade media partners.

The first set of awards had 19 awardees from around the world.

Lalit Modi, Chairman and Commissioner, IPL, collected the award for Brand Builder of the Year. Campaign of the Year went to Idea Cellular for its ‘What an idea, Sirji’ campaign.

Nokia bagged four awards, including CEO of the Year Award to D Shivkumar, and Marketing Professional of the Year Award to Devendra Kishore. Nokia’s N-Series won in the Durables category and the Overall category.

JWT India was declared Agency of the Year, while Creative Professional of the Year Award went to O&M’s Sumanto Chattopadhyay. Internet Business of the Year Award went to Zapak Digital.

Hindustan Unilever Ltd won in the FMCG category, while Hyundai Motors India was the winner in the Automobile category. There was a tie in the Banking and Financial Services category with ICICI Prudential Life Insurance and The Times of Money both bagging awards.

Singapore Airlines won in the Service and Hospitality Industry category, while Intel and TCS won in the IT category.

The young guns were not ignored either. The Young Achievers Award saw three winners – Rahul Kanwal of Headlines Today; Rahul Kucheria of Jet Airways; and Smiti Ruia of Paprika Media.

The award for social marketing went to P&G – Shiksha and the Federation of Chambers of Commerce, Sri Lanka.

CNN-IBN was adjudged the Most Popular News Channel of the Year, while TV-18 Group’s Raghav Bhel was declared the Media Professional of the Year.

The Lifetime Achievement Award went to Ramesh Chandra Agarwal, Chairman of the Bhaskar Group, and Ramesh Chauhan, Chairman, Parle Bisleri.

The Best Brand Awards went to Times Innovative Media, BSNL, LIC of India, Tech Mahindra Ltd, Blue Dart Express, The Mobile Store, Brand Equity, Sentosa Resorts, Singapore, and HSR Properties.


Vijay Mansukhani, speaks to exchange4media about the resurgence of Onida, the scope of growth of consumer electronics market in India and the reasons why Indian consumer electronics brands don’t compete on a global scale

Projjol Banerjea opens up about hiring Anne Macdonald and GroupM's Rob Norman, and the brand's new identity

Meera Iyer tells exchange4media that in FY 2016/17, bigbasket clocked a revenue of Rs 1,400 crore. The online supermarket currently stands at 70,000 orders a day, with operations in 25 cities.

CMO, Kashyap Vadapalli on the start-up’s marketing play, why it has decided to stay away from IPL and response to its furniture rental apps

Ushering the launch with a campaign titled ‘The New Way to Get Rich’ showcasing how technology gets millennials closer to their financial dreams

Ogilvy and Love Matters conceptualised a campaign that aimed to change the conversation and imagery that is associated with the LGBTQ community and lesbians in particular