Top Story


Home >> Digital >> Article

Dataquest Awards 2005: Kiran Karnik, R Chandrashekhar, Hemant Sonawala among award winners

Font Size   16
Dataquest Awards 2005: Kiran Karnik, R Chandrashekhar, Hemant Sonawala among award winners

The Dataquest Awards for 2005 took place in the Capital on Wednesday. Kiran Karnik, President, Nasscom, was named 'Dataquest IT Person of the Year 2005'. Hemant Sonawala, Chairman, Hinditron, was given the 'Lifetime Award, while the 'Pathbreaker Award' went to R Chandrashekhar, Joint Secretary in the Ministry of Communication and IT.

"Kiran Karnik has led from the front while fighting the outsourcing backlash and helped in giving the software industry a fresh lease of life," the awards panel said, adding, "Karnik lent his support to the software services industry in its most trying times and relentlessly championed India's cause in the outsourcing backlash debate with his hallmark sincerity, candor and conviction."

Sonawala was selected for the Lifetime Award for his contribution to the growth of the domestic IT industry in India. "Hemant Sonawala is one of the pioneers of India's domestic IT industry. He has been a forerunner in introducing high technology products in India through strategic alliances and has essayed the role of a pioneer and an entrepreneur in the industry, the panel commented."

R Chandrashekhar was named for the award for his key role in laying the foundation of e-Governance in India. "R. Chandrashekhar has initiated a model of public-private partnership, which is now being replicated to drive the country's e-governance agenda and has led landmark initiatives while operating within the procedural confines of the government set-up," the panel said.

The Dataquest Awards panel comprised S Ramadorai, CEO of TCS and Chairman of the panel; Dr DB Phatak of IIT Bombay; Deepak Ghaisas, CEO & CFO of i-Flex Solutions; PK Vohra, head of IT, ICICI Bank; Lalit Sawhney, head of IT, Reliance Infocomm; K Jaishankar, CEO, Ingram Micro India; Neelam Dhawan, managing director of Microsoft India and Pradeep Gupta, chairman and managing director of the CyberMedia Group and deputy chairman of the panel.

The Dataquest awards were held in association with TiEcon India 2005. Dataquest Awards are based on the DQ Top20 survey, India's most respected awards of the IT Industry, these awards are given to the leading company in each of the 10 major IT segments.

Dataquest Achievement Awards are a celebration of excellence in IT, the DQ IT Man of the Year, The Lifetime Achievement and the Path Breaker awards are an acknowledgement of the exemplary contribution of the evangelists and super- achievers of the Indian IT industry. The DQ Top 20 is the India's most authoritative and respected survey of the IT industry and market, often referred to as the "Bible of the Indian IT industry.


Arati Singh, Channel Head, NDTV Good Times, opens up on how she loves to go on adventurous trips on a typical weekend.

In week 9 of BARC ratings, the channel led the lifestyle space with 1206 million impressions followed by TLC, FYI TV18, Food Food and Fox Life

During his brief visit to India, Ronen Mense, Vice- President- Asia, AppsFlyer, spoke to exchange4media about app marketing and the new trends one can witness in mobile marketing.

Neha Kulwal, CEO, Admitad, talks about the future of affiliate marketing and the company's growth over the years

SEBI (Securities and Exchange Board of India,) imposed the fine for delayed disclosures under the Listing Agreement and the Insider Trading Regulations

Under BN Kumar’s leadership, PRCI held several successful global conclaves, brought out highly professional house journals and conducted international award winning social communication campaigns

At the 10th Pitch CMO Summit, marketers discussed the challenges of interfacing with the digitally empowered consumer.