Rajat Sharma elected DDCA President

Sharma, the Chairman of India TV, defeated veteran Indian cricketer Madan Lal by 517 votes

e4m by exchange4media Staff
Updated: Jul 2, 2018 4:12 PM

Rajat Sharma, Chairman & Editor-in-Chief of Hindi news channel India TV, was today elected the new President of Delhi and District Cricket Association (DDCA).

Sharma, who is a Padma Bhushan awardee, beat veteran Indian cricketer Madan Lal by 517 votes. The senior journalist got a total of 1,531 votes while Lal got 1,004 votes. Another contender advocate Vikas Singh could manage to get only 232 votes in his favour. Sharma’s group has won all 12 seats.

“I thank all members of DDCA who voted in the elections and reposed their trust in us. I now invite all the members to join hands to bring about transparency in the functioning of DDCA,” Sharma wrote in a tweet after his victory.

For the post of Vice President, Rakesh Kumar Khanna, the younger brother of former DDCA president Sheh Bansal, defeated Shashi Khanna. Shashi Khanna is the wife of the BCCI acting president CK Khanna.

Vinod Tihara, former sports committee head, was elected Secretary. He defeated nearest rival Manjeet Singh by 376 votes. While Tihara polled 1,374 votes, Singh got 998 votes in his favour.

Rajan Manchanda has been elected Joint Secretary and Om Prakash Sharma will be the new Treasurer.

The DDCA elections took place between June 27 and June 30.

Read more news about (internet advertising India, internet advertising, advertising India, digital advertising India, media advertising India)

For more updates, be socially connected with us on
WhatsApp, Instagram, LinkedIn, Twitter, Facebook & Youtube