Top Story


Home >> Advertising >> Article

Indy’s 2008: Grey Worldwide’s Priti Nair is ‘Creative Professional of the Year’, Balki wins again

Font Size   16
Indy’s 2008: Grey Worldwide’s Priti Nair is ‘Creative Professional of the Year’, Balki wins again

The second Indy’s were held in Mumbai on January 11. The awards recognise excellence in mass communications, including fields like advertising, media planning and buying, and public relations.

The event was started in 2007 by Jonathan Peters and Rayka Rogers, Co-founders of ‘Stars of the Industry Award’. Indy’s has a lofty aim of filling the gap between Abby’s and Emvies.

This year, Priti Nair, National Creative Director, Grey Worldwide, was adjudged Creative Professional of the Year. The Award had gone to R (Balki) Balakrishnan, NCD, Lowe, in 2007. Bakli didn’t remain empty-handed this year as well. He was declared Film Director of the Year for his maiden Bollywood venture ‘Cheeni Kum’.

Among the campaigns that got the Awards were Happy Dent created by McCann Ericson, which was declared the Most Creative Ad on TV; and ICICI Prudential Life Insurance (TV Finance, Banking and Insurance Industry); Award for Best Corporate Commercial – Marico - Uncommon Sense, Future Group (TV); Award for Best Advertisement with a Social Message – Tata Tea Ltd by Lowe Lintas, Bindas Bol campaign; Most Creative Advertisement on Television in Beverages Category – Thums Up; Most Creative Advertisement in Personal Durables Category – Reliance Mobile; Most Creative Advertisement in Food and Confectionary Category – Bingo.

Among TV channels, the award winners were Times Now – News Channel of the Year and NDTV Good Times – Best Fashion and Lifestyle Channel.

Tarun Katial, COO, Big 92.7, was adjudged Media Personality of the Year in the radio category; Haresh Chawla, CEO, Network 18 was Media Personality of the Year in TV category; while Keith Nilsson, MD, Yahoo Software Development India Pvt Ltd was Media Personality of the Year in the Internet category.

The 2008 Awards saw the addition of three award categories – Marcom Professional of the Year, Best In–House Magazine, and ‘Best Corporate Film’.

Other interesting awards included, ‘Best Media Production House of the Year’, which went to Yash Raj Films; SRK-starrer ‘Chak De India’, which won two awards for best director and best editor. Sachin Yardi was declared Best Script Writer for the film ‘Traffic Signal’, while Red Chillies Entertainment won the Best Special Effects Award for another SRK-starrer, ‘Om Shanti Om’.

The event was attended by several well-known advertising and media professionals, including M G Parameswaran, Executive Director & CEO, FCB-Ulka; Arvind Sharma, Chairman & CEO, Leo Burnett; Anurag Batra, Managing Director & Editor-in-Chief, exchange4media Group; and Partho Dasgupta, CEO, Future Media, among others. Chief guest for the evening was Girish Agarwal, Director-Marketing, DNA, Bhaskar Group.


Arati Singh, Channel Head, NDTV Good Times, opens up on how she loves to go on adventurous trips on a typical weekend.

In week 9 of BARC ratings, the channel led the lifestyle space with 1206 million impressions followed by TLC, FYI TV18, Food Food and Fox Life

During his brief visit to India, Ronen Mense, Vice- President- Asia, AppsFlyer, spoke to exchange4media about app marketing and the new trends one can witness in mobile marketing.

Neha Kulwal, CEO, Admitad, talks about the future of affiliate marketing and the company's growth over the years

SEBI (Securities and Exchange Board of India,) imposed the fine for delayed disclosures under the Listing Agreement and the Insider Trading Regulations

Under BN Kumar’s leadership, PRCI held several successful global conclaves, brought out highly professional house journals and conducted international award winning social communication campaigns

At the 10th Pitch CMO Summit, marketers discussed the challenges of interfacing with the digitally empowered consumer.