Top Story


Home >> Advertising >> Article

Ad Club honours young guns with Young Achievers Awards 2008

Font Size   16
Ad Club honours young guns with Young Achievers Awards 2008

Winners of Ad Club Bombay’s Young Achievers Awards 2008 were declared at a well-attended ceremony in Mumbai on September 24. The annual Awards have been instituted to encourage the young talent in the advertising and marketing communications industry.

Delivering the keynote address, Bhaskar Das, President, Ad Club Bombay, said, “Today’s youth is full of verve and innovative ideas, and the Ad Club realises the need to felicitate their contribution to the industry.”

Speaking at the event, Sunil Lulla, Awards Chairperson, said, “The Advertising Club Bombay has created a platform to recognise young talent with the Young Achievers Awards. Designed for the young, and by the young volunteers of the ad fraternity, these awards are for individuals below the age of 30 and in the business of brands via advertising, media, related services and business performance.”

The Young Achievers Awards 2008 were divided into two segments – Creative and Business – which were then sub-categorised to a total of nine awards. This year’s winners included Hetal Ajmera (JWT India) for SNC Jewels; Simone Patrick (JWT India) for DTC-Lead India Poised; Shirin Johari (O&M), who was adjudged the Most Creative Person; Amit Sharma (Chrome Pictures Ltd) was declared Best Movie Maker.

In the Business segment, the award winners included Anuj Singh (Red FM), who was declared the ‘Business Leader’; Shivani Suri Dhanda (Reliance Communications) and Harman Dhillon (HUL) both were adjudged Best Brand Marketer; Ritu Trivedi (Lodestar Universal) was Best Media Person was the work for Amul; Monaz K Todywalla (Madison Media) was Best Digital Person for the work for Cadbury Dairy Milk; Shekhar Banerjee (Madison Communications) bagged the Big FM Radio Award for the work for Brand Saffola.

Lulla also highlighted the efforts of a shadow committee of the Ad Club, called ‘Young Turks’. The committee comprises Vikrant Shah (The Times of India), Manish Ajgaonkar (PerceptH), Sunil Arora (Times Now), Sharad Chaturvedi (Rediffusion DYR), Subhash Rao and Ali Hatim (Bates David), Ritu Sidana (Publicitas) and Neha Shah.

The Jury for the Creative and Business segments was chaired by Abhijit Avasthi, Executive Creative Director, South Asia, O&M India, and Sanjay Behl, Head of Branding, Reliance Communications Ltd, respectively.

Big FM was the presenting sponsor for the Awards, while Crompton Greaves Ltd, Kohinoor, Royal Palms Property Pvt Ltd, Sunny Foresight Pvt Ltd and VCI Hospitality Ltd were the associate sponsors for the event.


Vijay Mansukhani, speaks to exchange4media about the resurgence of Onida, the scope of growth of consumer electronics market in India and the reasons why Indian consumer electronics brands don’t compete on a global scale

Projjol Banerjea opens up about hiring Anne Macdonald and GroupM's Rob Norman, and the brand's new identity

Meera Iyer tells exchange4media that in FY 2016/17, bigbasket clocked a revenue of Rs 1,400 crore. The online supermarket currently stands at 70,000 orders a day, with operations in 25 cities.

CMO, Kashyap Vadapalli on the start-up’s marketing play, why it has decided to stay away from IPL and response to its furniture rental apps

Ushering the launch with a campaign titled ‘The New Way to Get Rich’ showcasing how technology gets millennials closer to their financial dreams

Ogilvy and Love Matters conceptualised a campaign that aimed to change the conversation and imagery that is associated with the LGBTQ community and lesbians in particular