Year-old Amrita TV takes home 15 trophies at the Kerala Television Awards

Year-old Amrita TV takes home 15 trophies at the Kerala Television Awards

Author | exchange4media Chennai Bureau | Wednesday, May 10,2006 6:55 AM

Year-old Amrita TV takes home 15 trophies at the Kerala Television Awards

The year-old Malayalam channel Amrita TV bagged 15 awards at the Kerala Television Awards. The channel, which recently celebrated its first anniversary, had received nine awards at the Kerala TV Critics Awards as well.

At the Kerala Television Awards, an annual award instituted by the Kerala government, the channel won laurels in several categories. ‘Annum Mazhayayirunnu’, written and directed by B Unnikrishnan, won the best telefilm and the best screenplay awards. Siddique won the best actor award for his performance in ‘Annum Mazhayayirunnu’ and ‘Samasya’. ‘Samasya’, directed by M Mohanan, was adjudged the second best telefilm.

Manikanth Kadri was the best music director, again for ‘Annum Mazhayayirunnu’, while P Sreekumar got the best supporting actor award for his performance in the same telefilm. The telefilm’s art director’s work (C Rajagopal) was also adjudged the best in the Kerala television industry last year.

Speaking to exchange4media, Shyama Prasad, Programming Head, Amrita TV, said, “I would say that the programming strength comes from the professionals in the team, combined with the state-of-the-art technology – all these, backed by the vision of a corporate house which is not profit oriented. We used the same kind of formats, but with more depth, more sensitivity, more responsibility towards society, and of course, more creativity, which is reflected in the popularity of the shows.”

The list of Amrita’s awards include best compere (CM Mochita for ‘Udayamritam’), best commentator (Aliyar for ‘Samarpanam’), best current affairs program (‘Kanakapuram’), best editor (Akhil Menon for ‘Neekam’), best photographer (Sreekumar for ‘Pandalayini’), best storywriter (John Paul for ‘Amma’), besides best actress and supporting actress (Ambili Devi and Sona Nair for ‘Amma’ and ‘Samasya’, respectively).

‘Agnisakshi’ aired on Doordarshan – directed by Sreejit Paleri and produced by P K Janardana Kurup – was adjudged the second best teleserial, as the jury could not find any winner in the teleserial category. K P Sivakumar received the best director award for his telefilm ‘Kuttilekku’, aired by Jeevan TV. Sanusha was adjudged the best child artiste for her performance in violin aired by Asianet.

In the news section, ‘Praleyasmitham Kailasam’, directed by Vinod Mankara and aired on Asianet, won the best documentary award. R S Ajan won the best director award for his documentary ‘Everyday Heroes’ aired by ACV. S Saratchandran of Kairali TV won the best newsreader award, while V R Sudheesh of Asianet won the best interviewer award.

Asianet further showcased its newsroom strengths as P Shajahan won the best investigative journalist award. The award for the best critical writing on TV programmes went to S D Prins for his column Telikalam in ‘Madhyamam’ weekly.

The jury was chaired by Vijayakrishnan, and included George Onakkur, Harikumar and Chalachitra Academy chairman T K Rajeev Kumar.

Tags: e4m

Write A Comment