Top Story


Home >> Media - TV >> Article

V Anand is CNN-IBN Indian of the Year 2012

Font Size   16
V Anand is CNN-IBN Indian of the Year 2012

CNN-IBN announced the winners of the CNN-IBN Indian of the Year 2012 awards at a ceremony held in the National Capital on December 12.

Winners across Politics, Sports, Entertainment, Business and Public Service categories are:

Indian of the Year 2012 and Sports:
Chess maestro Viswanathan Anand is CNN-IBN Indian of the Year 2012. In addition to this, he also bagged the award in the Sports category for being India’s most successful chess grandmaster, who has been the undisputed World Champion since 2007.

Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar, for being the architect of BJP’s win in Goa and for successfully selling the agenda of hope in a state, which was used to a despairingly low level of politics.

Dr Yusuf Hamied, for running Cipla, one of the most socially conscious pharmaceutical companies in the world, profitably.

Irrfan Khan, for an outstanding performance in ‘Paan Singh Tomar’ and for continuing to make a splash in international cinema with films like ‘The Amazing Spider-Man’ and ‘The Life of Pi’.

Public Service:
Healthcare legend Dr Devi Shetty, for being a cardiac surgeon who leads and runs the world's largest and most economical heart care and health care institute, Narayana Hrudayalaya, which is run with the motive of giving quality health care services with dignity.

Special Achievement Award:
Aamir Khan & Team Satyamev Jayate, for using the medium of television and the talk-show format to shed light on burning social issues that affect India’s masses.

MC Mary Kom, for overcoming all obstacles to find a place on the Olympic podium. Her achievement brought joy to an entire region that had always been on the fringe of not just sports but Indian society at large.

Tessy Thomas & Team DRDO, for being an unlikely face in the world of defence research and for inspiring women to choose a career in science. Known as the Missile Woman and Agniputri, Tessy regards missiles as instruments of peace because of their deterrence value.

Lifetime Achievement Award:
Heroes of Rezang La, 1962, for their heroic stand at Rezang La on November 18, 1962 to save a Ladakhi village during the India-China war. The C Company of the 13th Battalion of the Kumaon Regiment, led by Late Major Shaitan Singh, fought to the last man, last round, and wrote one of the most glorious chapters in the military history of the world.

Speaking on the occasion, Rajdeep Sardesai, Editor-in-Chief, CNN-IBN, IBN7 & IBN-Lokmat said, “We at CNN-IBN are privileged to honour these distinguished citizens for their accomplishments and contributions in taking India forward. We congratulate all the winners for their extraordinary participation.”


Arati Singh, Channel Head, NDTV Good Times, opens up on how she loves to go on adventurous trips on a typical weekend.

In week 9 of BARC ratings, the channel led the lifestyle space with 1206 million impressions followed by TLC, FYI TV18, Food Food and Fox Life

During his brief visit to India, Ronen Mense, Vice- President- Asia, AppsFlyer, spoke to exchange4media about app marketing and the new trends one can witness in mobile marketing.

Neha Kulwal, CEO, Admitad, talks about the future of affiliate marketing and the company's growth over the years

Recap brings you a round up of the important stories that made headlines this week.

Powered by advertising technology expert Yospace, Akamai’s Dynamic Ad Insertion is designed to help content providers offer greater monetization opportunities through online advertising, while maintai...

The second season of the show takes viewers on a profound journey to the homes of their favorite celebrities such as cricket icon Saurav Ganguly and Bollywood actors Sushant Singh Rajput, Radhika Apt...