Stage set for first ever Airtel Indian News Broadcasting Awards in Capital today

Stage set for first ever Airtel Indian News Broadcasting Awards in Capital today

Author | exchange4media News Service | Friday, Aug 22,2008 8:23 AM

Stage set for first ever Airtel Indian News Broadcasting Awards in Capital today

exchange4media Group is all set to present its first ever awards for the Indian broadcast industry. Christened Airtel Indian News Broadcasting Awards, the first edition of the Awards is being held in at the Taj Palace in Delhi on August 22. Airtel is the main sponsor for these Awards, which would become an annual event from this year onwards. TAM Media Research and Media Guru are the knowledge partners in this endeavour.

The jury members had met on Tuesday, August 19, to shortlist the nominees for the Airtel Indian News Broadcasting Awards. The Awards would be held from 8.30 pm onwards, bringing to an end the day-long NewsNext 2008 conference. The process of selection of the Airtel Indian News Broadcasting awardees has been under the custodianship of Rahul Sen, CEO-Founder of Alchemist, and a nine-member jury.

The eminent jury members for the Awards include Tarun Tejpal, Editor-in-Chief, Tehelka; Dr Alok Mehta, President, Editors Guild of India and Chief Editor, Nai Dunia; Prasoon Joshi, Executive Chairman, McCann-Erickson India; Santosh Desai, CEO and Managing Director, Future Brands; Rahul Kansal, Chief Marketing Officer, BCCL; Jehangir Pocha, Editor, Businessworld; broadcast media consultant Sanjay Salil; GVL Narasimha Rao, political analyst and Managing Director of a Delhi-based research consulting firm; and Smiti Rula Kanodia, Founder of Paprika Media.

The objective of the Airtel Indian News Broadcasting Awards is to recognise 13 individuals who have shown leadership qualities and exceptional talent and are instrumental in shaping and building and contributing to the future of the Indian news broadcasting industry.

The Awards would be given in 13 categories:

• Daring news photographer

• Creative news producer

• Investigative news reporter

• Intelligent news show host

• Candid one on one news interviewer

• Most trusted news anchor

• Innovative editor-in-chief

• Young Turk

• Professional change agent Most admired entrepreneur

• Strongest regional language news broadcaster

• Effective news international broadcaster

• Hall of fame of outstanding lifetime achievements

Also read:

NewsNext 2008: ‘Broadcasters must understand TV news is just not a TRP game’

NewsNext 2008 to turn the spotlight on the business of news television

exchange4media to present first ever Airtel News Broadcasting Awards on August 22

Tags: e4m

Write A Comment