Top Story


Home >> Media - TV >> Article

Sera Bangali felicitates stars of Bengal

Font Size   16
Sera Bangali felicitates stars of Bengal

Sera Bangali on Star Anando honoured the true spirit of Bengal and its visionaries of today on May 11. The initiative was aired live for the seventh year in a row.

This initiative awards and felicitates eminent personalities who have made the state of Bengal proud. These people have not only achieved excellence in their respective fields but also helped bring Bengal into the limelight.

Speaking on the occasion, Ashok Venkatramani, CEO, MCCS shared, “We have dedicated ourselves to the recognition and felicitation of those personalities who have made Bengal proud and continue to do so. Sera Bangali is a true effort to recognise those successful Bengalis who not only have excelled in their respective fields but have also helped in putting Bengalis in the global arena.”

The awards are presented in a plethora of categories such as art, film, music, education, business, science, sports and lifetime achievement.

Neeraj Sanan, Executive VP, MCCS said, “We recognise people who contribute to society.” He said that this event is the “most aspired event in the east”.

The celebration, held at Science City Auditorium, Kolkata, was a star-studded event which started with a grand felicitation ceremony followed by an entertainment show.

This programme garners a huge response according to Sanan. “The response is reflected in the ratings we get which is close to 65 to 70 per cent of the marketshare.”

The anchors concluded the show by saying that the next time they meet it will be ‘ABP Ananda’ and not ‘STAR Ananda’. Sanan admitted that this move will indeed make them “stand tall in the eyes of their stakeholders as everything is the same except the name”.

The winners of Sera Bangali 2012 in various categories:

The nominees were selected following an in-depth research made by the MCCS editorial team.

In the past, luminaries such as Pranab Mukherjee, Minister of Finance; Dr Muhammad Yunus, Economist and winner of Nobel Peace Prize; Sourav Ganguly; Mithun Chakraborty; Rahul Bose; and Anurag Basu have been honoured.

The entertainment that followed the award function saw performances by distinguished artists such as Kunal Ganjawala and Debojyoti Mishra. The ground event this year had more than 3000 attendees. The event was aired live and approximately reached over 50 lakh people in Bengal and across the nation.

The 360-degree integrated marketing communication plan ensured coverage across TV, print, radio and outdoor.


Karthik Raman, Chief Marketing Officer, IDBI Federal Life Insurance, on the brand’s unconventional approach to marketing and priorities for the next year

Vinik Karnik, Business Head - ESP Properties, talked about what went into conceptualising the first edition of the entertainment marketing report, Showbiz

Rahul Jhamb, Brand Head, Forever 21, on how the fast fashion brand always stays on the pulse of latest marketing trends

Heavy spends on OOH and print sum up this year’s ad spends of YLG Salon

Conceptualised and executed by WATConsult, the campaign focuses on how Lotus Make-up is an enabler for women from various walks of life

iProspect released the third annual 2018 Future Focus Whitepaper geared to examine how machines and technology will impact marketing and advertising in the year ahead

Mavcomm Consulting one of India’s leading Public Relations, Reputation Management& Brand Communications company today announced elevation of Pranjal Dutta to the role of CEO