SaharaOne to make India swing to the tunes of ‘JJhoom India’

SaharaOne to make India swing to the tunes of ‘JJhoom India’

Author | exchange4media Mumbai Bureau | Monday, Oct 22,2007 8:20 AM

SaharaOne to make India swing to the tunes of ‘JJhoom India’

Riding on the success of its first reality show ‘Biggest Loser Jeetega’, SaharaOne Television has announced another reality-based format show, ‘JJhoom India’. The show premiers on October 27 and will air on Fridays and Saturdays at 9 pm. ‘JJhoom India’ will be the first project to be associated with channel after Sharmishta Rijhwani took charge as the CEO.

The show will be a platform for 10 pairs of television actors paired with professional playback singers, where they get together in the hope of making some beautiful music.

Commenting on her association with her first venture, Rijhwani said, “Off late, we have seen a spate of reality shows, but ‘JJhoom India’ is unique in its concept. For the first time ever, television stars will be coached by star singers to offer a complete entertainment package.”

With 13 weeks of melodious performances from the artists, the show will follow a bi-weekly format. Viewers will get a chance to vote for the best three teams every week, based on how the contestants perform. The third best picks the fourth from the remaining teams, while the fourth team picks the fifth, the fifth team picks the sixth, and so on, leading to one elimination every week.

Seemanto Roy, Entertainment Head, SaharaOne, said, “After the success of ‘Biggest Loser Jeetega’, it gives us immense pleasure to associate once again with yet another winning international format – ‘Singing with the Stars’. This musical reality show will truly be a mega scale event, where we plan to bring in lots of surprises and fun elements not just for our viewers but also our participants as well.”

The show, which will be produced by Optimystix, will see three eminent judges – Anandji, Shabana Azmi and Mahesh Bhatt. The show will be hosted by Rahul Vaidya and Sucheta Khanna.

The 10 pairs that would compete with each other are – Shweta Tiwari-Suresh Wadekar, Sharad Kelkar-Vaishali Samant, Varun Badola-Akriti Kakkar, Roshni Chopra-Vinod Rathod, Mrinal Kulkarni-Sudesh Bhosale, Shama Sikander-Zubin Mehta, Sachin Tyagi-Madhushree, Shekhar Suman-Sanjeevani, Chavi Mittal-Jatin Pandit, and Apara Mehta-Parthiv Gohil.

Tags: e4m

Write A Comment