Top Story


Home >> Media - TV >> Article

Nominations for 2nd Apsara Film & Film Television Producers Guild Awards announced

Font Size   16
Nominations for 2nd Apsara Film & Film Television Producers Guild Awards announced

The Film and Television Producers Guild of India have announced the nominations for the 2nd Apsara Film & Television Producers Guild Awards, presented by Reliance India Mobile. The mominees were announced amongst the leading producers from the film and television fraternity. The awards will be held at the Jamshed Bhabha Hall, NCPA on January 21, 2006.

The Apsara Awards are divided into four award categories: Film, Film Technical, Television and Special awards. The Film and Television categories have 14 awards each, while the Technical and Special Award groups have seven and 10 awards, respectively.

Saif Ali Khan-Sanjay Dutt starrer ‘Parineeta’ leads the race with 14 nominations, including the Best Film, Best Actor and Best Actress categories, followed closely by Sanjay Leela Bhansali’s ‘Black’ with 11 nominations.

In the television category, STAR One has emerged as the clear winner with nominations in 16 categories, including Best Ensemble, Best Drama Series and Best Comedy Serial. ‘Sarabhai Vs Sarabhai’ (STAR One) has emerged as the TV show with the maximum nominations, while NDTV leads amongst news channels with five nominations.

The Apsara Film and Television Producers Guild Awards is an award of the industry by the industry and for the industry. Each of the award groups had a jury selection committee chaired by an eminent member of the industry.

This year, Ramesh Sippy was the Chairman of the Film Awards Jury, while Harish Thawani and Manmohan Shetty chaired the Television and the Film Technical Award Juries, respectively.

Amit Khanna, President of the Film and Television Producers Guild, will chair the Special Awards committee. While the 34-member jury has announced the nominees, now the 220 members of the Film & Television Producers Guild will cast their vote in a secret ballot conducted by PricewaterhouseCoopers.

Speaking at the occasion, Khanna said, “The Apsara Awards is the ultimate recognition for all the people involved in the film and television industry as these awards are given are bestowed by the absolute peers in the industry in the most transparent and credible manner.”

The Apsara Awards Film and Television Producers Guild have been conceptualised and organised for the Film and Television Producers Guild of India by Hungama Events and Promotions, a division of The associate partners are Bharat Petroleum, Provogue, Cafe Coffee Day, and RedFM.


Kranti Gada joined the family business at Shemaroo in 2006 after a successful stint of over two years in marketing at Pepsi Co. She has been associated with the company for 12 years.

Exchange4media interacted with Jaspreet Chandok, Vice President and Head (Fashion) , IMG Reliance Pvt. Ltd on seamless brands integrations planned for Lakme Fashion Week, walking tall despite blazing trails like GST, demonetization and being a part of the larger cultural space

Their strategy to educate the consumers to make well informed decisions at all stages has worked out well.

Bobby Pawar, MD, CCO - South Asia, Publicis India, talks about his idea of chilling out

For their latest campaign ‘Peeoge toh Janoge’ (English translation: you’ll buy it if you taste it), Wagh Bakri and DDB Mudra gave Sakshi a new, rustic avatar.

Dabbawalas send some extra love along with dabbas to working professional across Mumbai

The Diamond Producers Association brings to life another rare moment as part of the ‘Real is Rare. Real is a Diamond' Campaign