Top Story


Home >> Media - TV >> Article

No compromise on credibility & ethics: Arnab Goswami

Font Size   16
No compromise on credibility & ethics: Arnab Goswami

Times Now walked away with two major awards at the exchange4media News Broadcasting Awards (ENBA) 2012, held in Delhi on August 31. The English news channel was declared News Channel of the Year, while its Editor-in-Chief Arnab Goswami was adjudged News Television Editor-in-Chief of the Year.

Speaking to exchange4media on Times Now being declared News Channel of the Year, Goswami said, “We are absolutely delighted with this win. We usually don’t participate in awards, what drew us this time is that we have been No. 1 for the last five years and the News Channel of the Year Award is a recognition of that.”

Goswami, who was adjudged News Television Editor-in-Chief of the Year, called the Award “fantastic” and added that it was great to get it from exchange4media. “This Award is also important as we have known the exchange4media Group for several years,” he added.

Sharing on the most important factor while taking decisions as an Editor, Goswami, said, “The most important things are personal credibility, ethics and honesty. You cannot compromise on them even once. I think what we need to restore in the television business is credibility, honesty and unimpeachable ethics and we hope to do that at Times Now. One of the reasons why we can take a tough position on several issues is because of our personal ethics.”

NDTV’s Radhika Roy was the ENBA Jury’s unanimous choice for the coveted Lifetime Achievement Award.

Voicing her sentiments on winning the Award, Radhika Roy said, “I remain utterly overwhelmed by the honour of such an Award, and while I feel personally undeserving of it, I’d like to think of it as a tribute to the entire team at NDTV, and most particularly all those who work so hard behind the scenes.”

This year, ENBA 2012 jury members were led by Uday Shankar, CEO, STAR India, as the Jury Chairperson. The other jury members included Anuja Chauhan (Author); Chintamani Rao (Strategic Marketing and Media Advisor); CVL Srinivas (Chairman, SMG India, and MD, LiquidThread, Asia-Pac); Dr SS Mantha (Chairman, AICTE); Krishna Prasad (Editor, Outlook); Madan Bahal (Managing Director, Adfactors PR); Maheshwer Peri (Publisher, Careers360); PN Vasanti (Director, CMS); Sandeep Goyal (Vice Chairman, Mogae Group); and Shravan Garg (Chief Editor, Nai Dunia, MP and Chhattisgarh).

Karthik Raman, Chief Marketing Officer, IDBI Federal Life Insurance, on the brand’s unconventional approach to marketing and priorities for the next year

Vinik Karnik, Business Head - ESP Properties, talked about what went into conceptualising the first edition of the entertainment marketing report, Showbiz

Rahul Jhamb, Brand Head, Forever 21, on how the fast fashion brand always stays on the pulse of latest marketing trends

Heavy spends on OOH and print sum up this year’s ad spends of YLG Salon

Mavcomm Consulting one of India’s leading Public Relations, Reputation Management& Brand Communications company today announced elevation of Pranjal Dutta to the role of CEO

The campaign film features PV Sindhu, Saina Nehwal, Kidambi Srikanth and Indian badminton mavericks, HS Prannoy, Ashwini Ponappa, Sai Praneeth, and Ajay Jayaram

We list a few important stories that you may have missed in the week gone by