Top Story


Home >> Media - TV >> Article

NDTV Indian of the Year Awards given away in the Capital

Font Size   16
NDTV Indian of the Year Awards given away in the Capital

The NDTV Indian of the Year 2008 Awards were given away on January 21 at a well-attended ceremony in Delhi. The Awards were conferred on people who had made their mark in diverse fields as politics, sport, entertainment, business, arts and culture. This year, the Awards recognised the outstanding contributions that helped build Brand India in 2008.

Indians of the Year are the men and women who defended Mumbai during its worst terror attack on November 26, 2008.

HDFC Bank Chairman Deepak Parekh was conferred the Business Leader of the Year Award. Adman Prasoon Joshi bagged the Award for Best Song Lyrics.

Among politicians, Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit was declared Political Leader of the Year, while veteran BJP leader LK Advani was conferred the Lifetime Achievement Award. Recently elected Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Omar Abdullah was given the Award for Gennext Politician of the Year.

In the field of entertainment, Aamir Khan bagged the Entertainer of the Year Award. The ‘Slumdog Millionaire’ team, which has been winning accolades the world over, bagged Global Excellence Award. In the field of culture, Kiran Seth of Spic Macay was conferred the Award for 25 years of Promoting Indian Culture.

In sports, India’s ‘golden boy’ shooter Abhinav Bindra bagged the Sportsman of the Year.

The team that sent India’s first mission to the moon – Chandrayaan 1 – was conferred the Extraordinary Indians of the Year.

The evening saw the likes of Amir Khan, Anil Kapoor, Prasoon Joshi, Regional Creative Director, Asia Pacific, McCann Yuvraj Singh, Abhinav Bindra, Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Omar Abdullah, Sushma Swaraj, Laloo Prasad Yadav, Our new home minister P. Chadambaram among others.

While Jammu Kashmir Chief Minister Omar Abdullah won the generation next politician of the year award, Olympic gold medal winner Abhinav Bindra won the NDTV's Sportsman of the Year award.

Slumdog Millionaire, which won the accolades the world over for narrating an Indian boy's rags to riches journey, won the NDTV Award for Global Excellence. The film has also won several Golden Globe Awards.

Apart from that, Deepak Parekh won the Business Leader of the Year award at the ceremony and actor Aamir Khan was named the Entertainer of the Year.


Kranti Gada joined the family business at Shemaroo in 2006 after a successful stint of over two years in marketing at Pepsi Co. She has been associated with the company for 12 years.

Exchange4media interacted with Jaspreet Chandok, Vice President and Head (Fashion) , IMG Reliance Pvt. Ltd on seamless brands integrations planned for Lakme Fashion Week, walking tall despite blazing trails like GST, demonetization and being a part of the larger cultural space

Their strategy to educate the consumers to make well informed decisions at all stages has worked out well.

Bobby Pawar, MD, CCO - South Asia, Publicis India, talks about his idea of chilling out

For their latest campaign ‘Peeoge toh Janoge’ (English translation: you’ll buy it if you taste it), Wagh Bakri and DDB Mudra gave Sakshi a new, rustic avatar.

Dabbawalas send some extra love along with dabbas to working professional across Mumbai

The Diamond Producers Association brings to life another rare moment as part of the ‘Real is Rare. Real is a Diamond' Campaign