Top Story


Home >> Media - TV >> Article

My industry made it possible for me to dream: Arnab Goswami

Font Size   16
My industry made it possible for me to dream: Arnab Goswami

Arnab Goswami, President-News & Editor-in-Chief, Times Now and ET Now,  won the IMPACT Person of the Year, 2015 Award, instituted by the exchange4media Group to recognize excellence in the Advertising, Media and Marketing domain. Goswami was given the award for revolutionizing news presentation and production on television, driving it to altogether new heights with his single-minded passion and taking Brand Times Now to consistent leadership position.

Union Minister of Communications and Information Technology Ravi Shankar Prasad, was the Chief Guest at the glittering award ceremony, and handed over the trophy and citation to Goswami.

Accepting the award, a visibly emotional Goswami, thanked his peers and the media industry, "I have always wanted a level playing field and I thank the industry for giving me this. My industry made it possible for me to dream, otherwise a small town guy would not have been able to stand in front of you today," he said.

Expressing his gratitude for the media industry, Goswami added, "When I left NDTV, Uday Shankar advised me to "Fly Solo", which has been my motto. But there have been so many people who have helped me, who stood by me. When I was down, they stood by me. When our ratings had crashed one year after launch, my industry supported me. When we introduced a new way of journalism in India, my industry stood by me like a rock. I thank all of you, my friends, my peers."

Speaking about the IPOY 2015 Award, Goswami said that he was "doubly honored" to have been chosen from among such luminaries. 

TV combined with digital and news and English equals a strong future and a stronger democracy, he opined. "People have embraced interactive journalism which we have seen in recent cases like CWG scam, Lalitgate, etc. The messaging does not change but technology will allow us to reach an even larger number of people," he said.

He said that media in India was at an inflection point and the next five years would be really exciting. "Indian news media, particularly digital and TV are at an inflection point. The next five years will be most transformative. This country is crying out loud for an international footprint. We are the carriers of that voice," he said.  Building on this point, Goswami further stated that it was no longer a question of "if" but "when".

The shortlisted names for the coveted award this year included the likes of Amitabh Kant, Secretary, Industrial Policy and Promotion, Govt. of India, Arnab Goswami, President-News & Editor-in-Chief, Times NOW and ET NOW, Ashish Bhasin, Chairman & CEO South Asia, Dentsu Aegis Network, CVL Srinivas, CEO of GroupM, South Asia, Kunal Bahl, Co-founder and CEO, Snapdeal, Nikesh Arora, President & CEO, SoftBank Corp, Rana Kapoor, Co-founder, MD & CEO, Yes Bank and Vijay Shekhar Sharma, Founder & CEO, Paytm.

Markus Noder, Managing Partner, Serviceplan International, shared innovative tools, ideas and methodologies to generate tangible business values

The primary reason that led to growth of OTT is the constant improvement of internet speed and service across the country: Sandeep Gupta, ACT Fibernet

Siddharth Kumar Tewary, Founder, Chief Creative, One Life Studios and Swastik Productions, on owning the IP on his most ambitious project 'Porus,' the risk of recovering its cost and his distribution strategy

Webscale plans to build the brand around smooth operations for the e-commerce sector and then move on to demand generation

The Tata Group is considering review of its Public Relations mandate which is currently handled by PR firm Edelman in association with Rediffusion. The review is likely to happen post January 2018.

KVL Narayan Rao, Group CEO, and Executive Vice Chairman of NDTV passed away at 63 after battling cancer for two years

Week 44 (October 29-November 4, 2017) of RAM Ratings saw Big FM and Fever FM dominating Mumbai. Meanwhile Fever, Radio City and Radio Mirchi dominated Delhi, Bangalore and Kolkata respectively.