Top Story


Home >> Media - TV >> Article

MIPCOM announces inaugural Mobile TV Awards winners

Font Size   16
MIPCOM announces inaugural Mobile TV Awards winners

After announcing the DVD Awards 2005 winners just three days ago, MIPCOM has now announced the winners of the inaugural Mobile TV Awards. The international trophies took place at the 21st edition of MIPCOM on October 17-21, 2005, at Palais des Festivals, Cannes. The winning works were chosen by an international grand jury from a total of 23 nominated projects.

For the first time the Mobile TV Awards closed the Mobile TV screenings, in which the nominated projects that had been pre-selected by an independent panel of industry experts were showcased.

The Mobile TV Screenings & Awards were key components of the Mobile TV Day at MIPCOM, which focused on the creation of new mobile entertainment concepts and formats.

Sponsored by leading mobile operator Orange and European broadcaster Arte, the Mobile TV Screenings & Awards were launched in August 2005 and had attracted 235 entries from 30 countries and 135 companies. The Mobile TV Awards were created and co-produced with Mediaplay International Ltd, a UK-based mobile content consultancy.

Mark Selby, President of the grand jury, said, “We had participants ranging from big broadcasters to small mobile content companies. It has been confirmed once more that good content travels across platforms, but innovation in this medium can come from anyone.”

Paul Johnson, Director of Reed MIDEM’s Television Division, commented, “The accolades convey to the international television community attending Cannes, the importance of mobile in the audiovisual sector, and this is crucial for our clients. The exceptional quality and range of made-for-mobile content competing this year showed that mobile is becoming a medium in its own right.”

The Awards ceremony was hosted by British TV presenter, Ray Cokes. The international grand jury presented a Mobile TV Award to the most compelling project in each category.

The grand jury memebers included – Mark Selby, Global VP Multimedia, Nokia (UK); Robert Chua, Chairman Founder, The Interactive Channel (Hong-Kong); Frédéric Fougea, Producer, Boréales, France; Nicoletta Iacobacci, Head of iTV Content Factory, RAI (Italy); Sophie Walpole, Head of Interactive Drama and Entertainment, BBC (UK); Matt West, VP Mobile Media Worldwide, Alcatel's Packet Video Network Solutions (UK).

In addition to the grand jury awards, there was a special ‘Best of Show’ prize, which was voted by the audience, and the Grand Prize for Best Innovation in Mobile Content awarded by Orange.

The winners’ list includes:

Best Made for Mobile TV Content/Format - SmashBrain, CinemaElectric, USA

Best Repurposed Video, Film, or Animation Content for Mobile - Brain Food: Glowing Mice, ScienCentral, Inc, USA

Best Mobile TV Channel or Service - Dateline, YooMedia Mobile, UK

Best User Interface for a Mobile TV Channel/Programme Guide - Label Studio TV, Universal Music Mobile, France

Audience “Best of Show” Prize - Pete Tong's Fast Trax, Inventa Productions, UK

Orange Grand Prize for Best Innovation in Mobile Content - Desperate Housewives - Recaps, Buena Vista International Television, UK


Speaking with exchange4media, Rishi Darda, Joint Managing Director and Editorial, Lokmat Media Group shared his vision for regional publications and the impact of IRS 2017 on the print industry.

Nisha Narayan, COO & Director, RED FM & Redtro and CEO, Digital Radio (Mumbai) Broadcasting Ltd, shares her insights on how radio is a powerful medium in terms of advertising and what can be done to take it to the next level

The popular channel from the Viacom18 ‘s umbrella MTV Indies, which aired music by independent artistes, was replaced by MTV Beats, a 24x7 Hindi music channel in 2016

Bhasin on the checks and balances of new IRS, methodology with new companies like Vedsur on board, interpreting the data and why it’s not fair to compare with previous data

The popular channel from the Viacom18 ‘s umbrella MTV Indies, which aired music by independent artistes, was replaced by MTV Beats, a 24x7 Hindi music channel in 2016

Backed by four properties including the first test match between South Africa and India of Freedom Cup, Sony Ten 1 continued to lead Top 5 channels in 2018’s second week (January 6-12)

Vijay Shekhar Sharma stated that this is the right time to create an Indian model which would be the envy of the world