Top Story


Home >> Media - TV >> Article

Judging process completed for e4m News Broadcasting Awards

Font Size   16
Judging process completed for e4m News Broadcasting Awards

Amid intense deliberations and dilemmas, the distinguished Jury for the exchange4media News Broadcasting Awards (eNBA), under the Chairmanship of Shekhar Gupta, Editor-in-Chief, The Indian Express, finalised the names of the winners in various categories. The Jury panel met in Delhi on August 11, 2011 to deliberate on the entries.

All eyes are now on August 27, 2011, when the winners will be felicitated at a glittering ceremony in Delhi at The LaLit.

In a two-phased process, the Jury pondered over 360 entries received for various categories. In some categories, where nominations were not invited, the eminent panel unanimously decided the name of the winner.

Speaking on the judging process, Gupta, the Chairperson of Jury panel, said, “All members of jury were cheerfully involved in judging process and took their job very seriously. They discuss many things, and in some cases, there were many dilemmas which were solved in a very healthy and constructive manner by them.”

He further said that the jury panel is excellent with lots of diversity. “They fit in stature, diversity and partiality,” stated Gupta.

Gupta believed that these awards will help those members of the industry which are not very familiar names. Awards like eNBA pick out the best from industry and generate a spirit of competition and are very encouraging to the people in the business, most importantly for language media.

The Judging Process:
The judging process was a 2-level process. In level1, each entry was put through evaluation by 2-member sub-jury against pre-set criteria for the respective category. Members of sub-jury gave their individual scores for each entry. Based on the average of these scores, the top 3 entries were nominated for consideration by the full jury – the level2 process.

In the level 2 process, all the nominated entries, from all categories, were put to discussion by the full Jury and the winner was chosen through consensus and sometimes, through voting. In some cases, where Jury was not agreeing on the winner, Jury Chair decided the winner.

The Jury Panel:
Adam Roberts,
South Asia Bureau Chief, The Economist
Alok Mehta, Chief Editor, Nai Dunia
Amal Allana, Chairperson, National School of Drama
Amit Jain, Country Director, AkzoNobel India
Najeeb Jung, Vice Chancellor, Jamia Millia Islamia
R Sukumar, Managing Editor, Mint
Sonal Dabral, Creative Head Asia & Chairman Bates 141 India
Suhel Seth, Managing Partner of Counselage India & Founder of Equus
Sunit Tandon, Director General, Indian Institute of Mass Communication
Yashwant Deshmukh, Founder-Owner of Communications Consultancy YRD Media Network

exchange4media formulated the Indian News Broadcasting Awards in 2008 with the objective of recognising the best in Television news, to reward broadcasters and industry leaders who are responsible for shaping the future of Television Broadcasting in India.

Now in its fourth edition, exchange4media News Broadcasting Awards (eNBA), will take this exercise of honouring excellence yet another step forward. At e4m, our goal is to engage the entire industry in a healthy competition, and in the process, encourage the effort that goes into accomplishing the extraordinary.

For more details on eNBA, please visit:

 Also read:

eNBA: There’ll always be space for credible, authoritative news channels: Shekhar Gupta

The production house has already established itself as the leader in the non-scripted genres. However, Rege now wants Endemol to achieve the same in the original scripted zone and film production

Naidu also talks about the ushering in of a new era of digital payments and says this is just the beginning and there’s lots of space for newer players to step in and evolve

Markus Noder, Managing Partner, Serviceplan International, shared innovative tools, ideas and methodologies to generate tangible business values

The primary reason that led to growth of OTT is the constant improvement of internet speed and service across the country: Sandeep Gupta, ACT Fibernet

India has become the diabetes capital of the world, with prevalence of the disease estimated to rise from 69.2 million to 123.5 million by 2040

Laban Stretchy Man, the new human shaped, stretchy, fruit flavoured chews from Orkla- Norway’s number one confectionery brand, has been launched and localized by MTR Foods in India