Top Story


Home >> Media - TV >> Article

Jalandhar Kendra declared best at Second Annual Doordarshan Awards

Font Size   16
Jalandhar Kendra declared best at Second Annual Doordarshan Awards

Doordarshan's Jalandhar Kendra walked away with the best Doordarshan Kendra of the year Trophy at the Second Doordarshan Awards. The chief guest I&B minister, Sushma Swaraj, reiterated that obscenity would not be allowed to continue on television. "If this is all that sells, don't sell," she said.

Instituted to recognize and encourage in house talent, the DD Awards picked out the best technical and creative brains behind the shows on various DD Channels. Doordarshan's Jaipur Kendra bagged the highest, five, number of awards for the best editing (Inside Pushkar), best science and technology show (Surya Kiran), best serial (Bhor), best agriculture show (Ujjas Batan Gaon Gaon Ri) and best wildlife and environment show (Ab Nahi Roothenge Badal).

Devika Moktam's (DDK Delhi) reporting on child labour won her the best news report award for 'Ek Bachpan Aisa Bhi'. The live coverage of General Musharraff's visit to Agra was adjudged the best live event of the year. Hindi news anchor, Neelam Sharma walked away with the best news presenter award. DDK Srinagar and Jammu bagged the best regional news unit awards. The best TV spot award went to Vijay Bhingarde of Mumbai for anti smoking theme. Among the technical categories, Bangalore bagged the trophy for the best maintained kendra, while Gwalior was adjudged the best-maintained high power transmitter (HPT).

Vijayalakshmi Chhabra, Director-Marketing, Mumbai and Usha Bhasin, Director-Development Communication Unit, New Delhi won the Director General's Special Award for exemplary work.

Anchored by media personality Sachin along with former Miss World Yukta Mookhey and three DD comperes, the awards ceremony was interspersed with performances by various artistes including Shaan, the Colonial Cousins, Kavita Krishnamoorthy and Jaspinder Narula.


Vinik Karnik, Business Head - ESP Properties, talked about what went into conceptualising the first edition of the entertainment marketing report, Showbiz

Rahul Jhamb, Brand Head, Forever 21, on how the fast fashion brand always stays on the pulse of latest marketing trends

Heavy spends on OOH and print sum up this year’s ad spends of YLG Salon

Baba Ramdev brought his sharp wits for an interview with e4m where he promised to disrupt more markets and spoke about he the way he created a brand through consistent and selfless work

Heavy spends on OOH and print sum up this year’s ad spends of YLG Salon

Thomas, Chief Marketing Officer, Diageo India, gives us a peek into the marketing strategy for McDowell’s No 1 Soda, its creation of ‘No 1 Yaari Jam,’ their own set of 4Ps and importance of content

Prior to joining Madison PR in 2012 Chaudhary was Group President Corporate Communications at Reliance Industries Limited.