India TV honours nation's bravehearts with Salaam India Awards

India TV honours nation's bravehearts with Salaam India Awards

Author | exchange4media News Service | Tuesday, Oct 01,2013 7:56 AM

India TV honours nation's bravehearts with Salaam India Awards

As part of its effort to honour the bravehearts of the nation with the first edition of the Officer’s Choice Salaam India Awards, India TV also instituted a bravery award in the memory of Jyoti Singh, the brave girl who lost her life after fighting the gruesome gang rape in a bus in Delhi, but awakened the society and the nation on crime against women.

Jyoti Singh Bravery Awards were presented at a ceremony in New Delhi on September 28, 2013. Other categories for which the Awards were given away included Bravery, Gallantry & Special Awards, etc.

The 13 winners included Shareef Ibrahim Kutty, who risked his life to save several innocent lives, Barun Biswas (posthumous) for his crusades against anti-social elements and eventually giving up his life for the cause he lived for, Captain Bikramjeet Singh for his exemplary display of valour during the recent Uttarakhand crises. Lakshmi, who has fought against the menace of acid attacks, was one of the three winners of the Jyoti Singh Awards.

India TV Chairman and Editor-in-Chief Rajat Sharma, in his address, congratulated the winners and dedicated the awards as a salute to bravehearts of the nation who through their selfless and altruistic acts have kept the trust running into humanity.

The winners were decided on the basis of a stringent process that included call for entries, short-listing by a high-power editorial board and final winners’ selection by a Grand Jury headed by noted Jurist Ram Jethmalani. The Jury included Rajat Sharma, first woman IPS officer Kiran Bedi, retired Army Chief Gen VK Singh and retired Chief Election Commissioner Dr SY Querashi.

Amongst the dignitaries present included personalities such as LK Advani, Rajnath Singh, Murli Manohar Joshi, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Smriti Irani, Meenakshi Lekhi, Gulam Nabi Azad, Harish Rawat, Vijay Bahuguna, Shakeel Ahmed, Farooq Abdullah, Gen VK Singh, KC Tyagi of JDU, Maninderjit Singh Bitta, Sudhindra Bhadoria, BSP and Gulshan Grover, among others.

Speaking on the occasion, senior BJP Leader LK Advani said, “As proven by the exceptional individuals here, bravery should not only be a characteristic to the Defence personnel. For the cause of the great nation that India is, individuals from every walk of life need to embody bravery and courage. This initiative by India TV is will act like a catalyst.”

Union Health Minister Gulam Nabi Azad observed, “Unlike other awards, Salaam India Awards have the genuine potential to inspire individuals to step forward and replicate such exemplary acts of bravery.”

Ritu Dhawan, MD and CEO, India TV stressed upon the need of such initiatives as humble, but necessary steps towards a safer and cordial India.

Officer’s Choice packaged drinking water was the sole presenting sponsor for the initiative.

List of award winners:

Write A Comment