INB Awards 2009: Jury meets to deliberate on the shortlist

INB Awards 2009: Jury meets to deliberate on the shortlist

Author | Puneet Bedi Bahri | Monday, Aug 24,2009 8:12 AM

INB Awards 2009: Jury meets to deliberate on the shortlist

The jury of eminent journalists and media stalwarts met on August 22, 2009, to discuss and decide on the most deserving candidates for the Indian News Broadcasting Awards (INBA) 2009. The second edition of INBA will be held on Wednesday, August 26, at the Intercontinental Eros in Delhi.

After having honoured and celebrated the country’s leading television news professionals in 2008, exchange4media is on course to recognise and felicitate achievers in the television news sphere again at the INBA 2009.

The jury for the INBA 2009 comprises eminent journalists and media stalwarts. Tarun Tejpal, Editor-in-Chief, Tehelka, is Chairman of the jury. The jury members include GVL Narasimha Rao, psephologist and member of the BJP National Executive Committee; Vinod Bakshi, formerly of the BBC and now on the Board of Zee; Shravan Garg, Editor, Dainik Bhaskar; Kanika Mathur, President - India & SEA, Solutions | Digitas; Counselage’s Suhel Seth; Tarun Rai, CEO, World Wide Media; filmmaker Madhur Bhandarkar; Josy Paul, Chairman & National Creative Director, BBDO; G. Narsimha Rao, Supreme Court Advocate, Latika Khaneja, Director of College of Sports management and Ashwini Singla of Genesis Burson-Marsteller.

Commenting on the Awards this year, Jury Chairman Tarun Tejpal said, “The process and the methodology was as robust this year as it was last year. The jury is a high quality one with members from diverse fields and they all have been very interested and has held healthy discussions. There is always scope to refine it further as these are very young awards, and I am sure they will be more refined with each coming year. What we need to concentrate on is that from next year onwards, maybe there could be a more detailed shortlist so that the non-media members of the jury could have a clearer view of things. All in all, I am happy with all the decisions made as they were made on consensus of all the jury members.”

Commenting on the Jury process and experience, psephologist GVL Narasimha Rao said, “It has been great experience. I was part of the jury last year as well, so I have some experience from the past. Both these years we’ve had very different members on the jury, but the common thing that remains is the diversity of the members, who come from different fields and have no interest in any particular channel, which has ensured a fair judgment. The good thing is that even if there were diverse thoughts that came by on some occasions, the final decision has been taken unanimously.”

Filmmaker Madhur Bhandarkar remarked, “It was great being with so many learned people here, there was no tilt and force on the decision making, all the decisions were taken unanimously by all the jury members. I was a little apprehensive before coming here, but once here, I really enjoyed the process. Tarun Tejpal, the Chairman of the Jury, guided me well.”

This year, the organisers and jurors have decided to swell the categories from 13 to 17 due to overwhelming response from the entire media fraternity. The Awards would be given to achievers for their outstanding work for the financial year April 2008-March 31, 2009. Separate Awards would be presented to professionals from English and Hindi channels in six out of the 17 categories.

INBA was launched in 2008 by exchange4media with an objective to honour television news professionals for their extraordinary contribution to the industry. The first edition had 13 categories and winners were chosen by an eminent jury panel comprising Tarun Tejpal, Prasoon Joshi, GVL Narasimha Rao, and Rahul Kansal, among others. The 13 awardees were given the trophies by the Chief Guest and the then Minister for Labour and Employment, Oscar Fernandes.

The year has been an active year for news channels, from elections to global crises; to terrorist crises the year saw all. The television news industry has persistently given the country minute by minute account of all happenings each day. The INB Awards honour those who have excelled in their field, keeping alive the highest standards of TV news journalism in the country.

Tags: e4m

Write A Comment