INB Awards 2009 out to honour top TV news professionals again

INB Awards 2009 out to honour top TV news professionals again

Author | Rohan Dua | Thursday, Aug 20,2009 8:34 AM

INB Awards 2009 out to honour top TV news professionals again

After having honoured and celebrated country’s leading television news professionals in 2008, exchange4media is on course to recognise and felicitate achievers in the television news sphere at the Indian News Broadcasting Awards (INBA) 2009. The second edition of INBA will be held on Wednesday, August 26 at the Intercontinental Eros in Delhi.

Following an overwhelming response from the entire media fraternity, this year the organisers and jurors have decided to swell the categories from 13 to 17. The Awards would be given to achievers for their outstanding work for the financial year April 2008- March 31, 2009. News organisations can participate in both Hindi and English awards in the same category. Separate Awards would be presented to professionals from English and Hindi channels in six out of the 17 categories. The last date for submitting entries was August 19, 2009.

The jury for the INBA 2009 comprises several eminent journalists and media stalwarts. Tarun Tejpal, Editor-in-Chief, Tehelka, is Chairman of the jury. The jury members include GVL Narasimha Rao, psephologist and member of the BJP National Executive Committee; Vinod Bakshi, formerly of the BBC and now on the Board of Zee; Shravan Garg, Editor, Dainik Bhaskar; Kanika Mehta, President - India & SEA, Solutions | Digitas; Counselage’s Suhel Seth; Tarun Rai, Publisher, World Wide Media; filmmaker Madhur Bhandarkar; Josy Paul, Chairman & National Creative Director, BBDO; and Ashwini Singla of Genesis Burson-Marsteller.

INBA was launched in 2008 by exchange4media with an objective to honour television news professionals for their extraordinary contribution to the industry. The first edition had 13 categories and winners were chosen by an eminent jury panel comprising Tarun Tejpal, Prasoon Joshi, GVL Narasimha Rao, and Rahul Kansal, among others. The 13 awardees were given the trophies by the Chief Guest and the then Minister for Labour and Employment, Oscar Fernandes.

The financial year gone by has seen the formation of a stable Government at the Centre, however, the country had also had its share of terror attacks, natural disasters and economic crisis. The television news industry has relentlessly given the country minute by minute account of all happenings each day in their riveting and gripping news capsules. The INBA awards honour those who have excelled in their field, keeping alive the highest standards of TV news journalism in the country.

Tags: e4m

Write A Comment