Top Story


Home >> Media - TV >> Article

enba 2016: shortlist unveiled

Font Size   16
enba 2016: shortlist unveiled

The jury meet of the exchange4media News Broadcasting Awards (enba) 2016 was held on February 15. Ever since its inception in 2008, enba has been recognising the best in television news and rewarding those responsible for shaping the future of television broadcasting in India.

As part of the current edition, enba will celebrate the success of television news professionals across 31 different categories. Standing true to its reputation, enba generated an enormous response from the broadcast news industry garnering over 300 entries for the various category of awards.

The jury for enba 2016 was led by Star India’s Managing Director Sanjay Gupta. He was accompanied on the jury by several other stalwarts such as Alok Mehta, Chief Editor, Outlook Hindi; Junior Anand Gupta, Founder SHE & Ninja Girl Bags; Archana Datta, Ex – Director General, All India Radio & Doordarshan; columnist Devi Cherian; Dheeraj Jain, Managing Director, Radcliffe Capital; author Jaishree Mishra, senior journalist Shravan Garg and Sudhir Mishra, Founder & Managing Partner, Trust Legal, Advocates & Consultants.  

The much awaited award ceremony will be held on February 25. Col. (Retd.) Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore, Minister of State for Information & Broadcasting, will grace the occasion as the chief guest. The keynote address of the evening will be delivered by Punit Goenka, MD & CEO, Zee Entertainment Enterprises Limited (ZEEL).

Media stalwarts Anurradha Prasad, Chairperson & MD, B.A.G. Films & Media Ltd; Navika Kumar, Managing Editor, Times Now; Nikhil Wagle, Former Editor-in-Chief Maharashtra 1; Rana Yashwant, Managing Editor, India News; Shoma Chaudhary, Founder & Director, Algebra and Sreenivasan Jain, Managing Editor, NDTV will also engage in a panel discussion during the prestigious event.

Speaking about the entries this year, Jaishree Misra, Author and enba 2016 jury member said, “The challenge was to choose the right, deserving entry amidst closely contested ones. We have looked at entries that had the required gravitas and selected the most deserving winner in each category.”

“The entries this year were fantastic and it was not an easy task to decide upon the winner as each shortlist had its strong points. Thanks to the fantastic jury that brought a depth of experience to the entire process of selecting the winners,” said, Dheeraj Jain, MD, Radcliffe Capital and enba 2016 jury member.

Here’s the shortlist of entries:

Best Current Affairs Programme - English
S.NO. Programme/Person Channel
1 Reporters Project Bengal CNN-News18
2 Chennai Floods - Deepak Bopanna NEWS9
3 Archana Shukla CNBC-TV18
4 Mumbai Sink City - Why can't the 'maximum city' cope with the monsoons? NewsX
5 Hopeful and Gay - Nabila Jamaluddin NEWS9
Best Current Affairs Programme - Hindi
S.NO. Programme/Person Channel
1 Jannat News18 India
2 ArdhSatya India News
3 Aaj Ki Tareekh ABP News
4 Vijay Factor ABP News
5 Operation Mithai ABP News
BARC India Best Business Programme - Hindi
S.NO. Programme/Person Channel
1 Budget Bazar Aaj Tak
2 Auto Expo 2016 Aaj Tak
3 Ghar Ek Sapna - Scheme Trap & Hidden Cost India News
4 Awaaz@9 CNBC Awaaz
5 Pehla Sauda CNBC Awaaz
Best Talk Show - English
S.NO. Programme/Person Channel
1 MR ENVIRONMENT- #MyClimateMyFuture (Swati Thiyagarajan Interview with Sir David Attenborough) NDTV 24X7
2 Cover Story Special: Living With Triple Talaq NewsX
3 Nidhi Chaphekar Story CNN-News18
4 India at 9 CNN-News18
5 PM Modi Interview CNN-News18
6 Karan Thapar India Today TV
7 The NDTV Dialogues NDTV 24x7
8 The Roundtable: Tracking The Youth Vote NewsX
9 Cover Story Special: Valley On The Boil NewsX
10 The Roundtable: Officers & A Gentleman NewsX
Best Talk Show - Hindi
S.NO. Programme/Person Channel
1 Youth For Change-Sports NDTV INDIA
2 Taal Thok Ke Zee News
3 Sabse bada Interview (PM): PM MODI Interview By Rahul Joshi ETV News Network
4 Parvez Musharraf Exclusive Aaj Tak
5 Shahrukh Vs Shahrukh Aaj Tak
Best In-depth Series - English
S.NO. Programme/Person Channel
1 India's Champions - HOCKEY CNN-News18
2 Budget Yatra CNN-News18
3 Truth Vs Hype NDTV 24x7
4 Lighting The Himalayas NDTV Prime
5 Archana Shukla CNBC-TV18
6 Illegal Bangladeshi Immigrants - Deepak Bopanna NEWS9
7 India Matters NDTV 24X7
8 Tower of Death - Bansy Kalappa NEWS9
Best In-depth Series - Hindi
S.NO. Programme/Person Channel
1 Rahul Sinha Zee News
2 Main Azad Kyun nahi News18 India
3 Operation Blackboard India News
4 Sookha India News
5 Flood fury in Bihar Zee Purvaiya
Best News Coverage - National - English
S.NO. Programme/Person Channel
1 NDTV's Extensive Coverge of Drought in India NDTV 24x7
2 Life After URI India Today TV
3 Surgical Strike India Today TV
4 GST Coverage CNBC-TV18
5 Chennai Floods CNN-News18
Best News Coverage - National - Hindi
S.NO. Programme/Person Channel
1 Floods (Prakash Kumar) ABP News
2 Shakti Singh Zee Punjab Haryana Himachal
3 Shahabuddin ke Kauf ki kahani ABP News
4 Border ABP News
5 Jannat News18 India
Best Anchor - English
S.NO. Programme/Person Channel
1 Karan Thapar India Today TV
2 Rajdeep Sardesai India Today TV
3 Rahul Kanwal India Today TV
4 Shereen Bhan CNBC-TV18
5 Vishnu Som NDTV 24x7
6 Bhupendra Chaubey for Big5@10 CNN-News18
Best Anchor - Hindi
S.NO. Programme/Person Channel
1 Abhisar Sharma ABP News
2 Anil Singhvi CNBC Awaaz
3 Kishore Ajwani News18 India
4 Niharika Maheshwari India 24x7
5 Deepak Chaurasia India News
6 Sweta Singh Aaj Tak
Best Channel or Programme Promo - English/Hindi
S.NO. Programme/Person Channel
1 Gates foundation - Every life counts (Baton Promo) NDTV
2 News Wiz - Salman Khan Promo India Today TV
3 News Wiz - Hrithik Roshan Promo India Today TV
4 NDTV Non Tabloid Campaign - EYE (English) NDTV
5 Chidiya Udd - HINDI NDTV
6 Gates foundation - Every life counts (Baton Promo) HINDI NDTV
7 Non Tabloid - EYE (Hindi) NDTV


Siddharth Kumar Tewary, Founder, Chief Creative, One Life Studios and Swastik Productions, on owning the IP on his most ambitious project 'Porus,' the risk of recovering its cost and his distribution strategy

Webscale plans to build the brand around smooth operations for the e-commerce sector and then move on to demand generation

Shriya Ghate, Business Head, Tinkle, spills the beans on the company's vision for its special line of merchandise launched to celebrate its 37th anniversary, its pricing, marketing strategies, and more

Vivek Patni, Director of Wonder Cement, on the current marketing strategies and challenges that brand owners face

There was reportedly an altercation between the two in Bodhjung Nagar, Tripura

The New Realities study in India is its sixth year. Over 600 online interviews (per country) were conducted in seven countries, as a part of the study.

Rohit Bansal, Group Head of Corporate Communications, Reliance Industries Limited was speaking about the emerging tools of PR through Social Impact during his keynote address at IPRCCA 2017