Top Story


Home >> Media - TV >> Article

Election Commission named NDTV Indian of the Year 2014

Font Size   16
Election Commission named NDTV Indian of the Year 2014

The NDTV Indian of the Year Awards are held annually to recognise Indians whose contribution to the country have strengthened the foundation of our society and helped build Brand India.

NDTV announced the winners of their seventh edition of 'Indian of the Year Awards’ in New Delhi.

The seventh edition of the awards was marked by a set of interesting panel discussions over key issues: Public Service, Elections and Business.

The panelists for the Public Service session included Aamir Khan, Aruna Roy (social activist) and S. Y. Quraishi, former Chief Election Commissioner of India while the panelists for the Business session were business czars Rahul Bajaj, Chairman of the Indian conglomerate Bajaj Group and a Member of Parliament, Rajiv Bajaj, Managing Director of Bajaj Auto, Shiv Nadar, Founder and Chairman of HCL and the Shiv Nadar Foundation and Roshni Nadar, Executive Director and the CEO of HCL Corporation.

The third and final session was the award ceremony for the Indian of the Year, presented by Prannoy Roy to the Election Commission of India; represented by seven former Chief Election Commissioners of India. The discussion with SY Quraishi, MS Gill, BB Tandon, JM Lyngdoh, Naveen Chawla, TS Krisha Murthy and N Gopalaswami was moderated by Barkha Dutt.

Also present at the ceremony were Latha Rajnikanth, Soundarya R Ashwin, Ranbir Kapoor, Deepika Padukone, Kangana Ranaut among other well known personalities from all walks of life.

The eminent awardees were:

1. Award for Public Service – PRS Legislative Research & Association for Democratic Reform
2. Business Leader of the Year – Rajiv Bajaj
3. Young Philanthropist of the Year – Roshni Nadar
4. LIC Unsung Hero – Laxmi
5. Entertainer of the Year – Deepika Padukone
6. Actor of the Year – Kangana Ranaut
7. Bollywood Youth Icon – Ranbir Kapoor
8. Technical Innovation in Film – Soundarya R. Ashwin
9. Sportsperson of the Year – P V Sindhu
10. Lifetime Achievement Award (Entertainment) – Amjad Ali Khan
11. Lifetime Achievement Award (Arts): Satish Gujral
12. Indian of the Year - The Election Commission

Our typical marketing budget is usually 10 per cent of the topline spend

There are some forces impacting the way our business works. The IT/ITeS sector has changed tremendously. Platforms like Twitter have made everyone journalists. Smartphones have made everyone a photographer. The trend that we are seeing is one of hyperdigitalization, which is causing the lines between product and services to blur. For example, <a href=

The OOH sector is among the fastest growing, globally. Brands and marketers have realized its potential and impact and begun to craft medium-specific adverts. Self-regulation is not only necessary but also essential to growth of the sector. The industry needs to exercise a certain level of this self-restraint to prove its commitment to maintaining the best standards in advertising.

<b>Clients are looking for experiential solutions beyond radio or print: Abraham Thomas, Radio City 91.1 FM</b><br><br> From entering new markets to launching large format events, Radio City 91.1FM has been on a roll. The radio channel recently announced the launch of India’s biggest singing talent hunt-Radio City Super Singer Season 8. Earlier this year, the channel set up its own creative-cum...

Under the watchful eye of Walt Disney, Bindass undergoes brand repackaging with a fresh new show ‘Dil Buffering’ simulcast across its linear and social media platforms on September 29 and will launch...

Apart from the mandate for the first project which is the Ashiana Town in Bhiwadi, Tomorrow and InterTwined will deliver brand solutions across film, print, radio, outdoor and activation besides provi...

Despite advertising picking up after a slow Q1, regional FM players still feel that the lingering effect of GST, RERA, demonetisation will still make its impact felt during the upcoming festive quarte...