Top Story


Home >> Media - TV >> Article

CNN-IBN Indian of the Year: Team Chandrayaan, Aamir Khan, Abhinav Bindra among honorees

Font Size   16
CNN-IBN Indian of the Year: Team Chandrayaan, Aamir Khan, Abhinav Bindra among honorees

The CNN-IBN Indian of the Year 2008 awards were given away at a glittering ceremony in the Capital on February 2. Minister for External Affairs Pranab Mukherjee was the Chief Guest on the occasion, while Lok Sabha Speaker Somnath Chatterjee was the Guest of Honour.

The awards function was attended by eminent guests from the world of business, sports, media and the political arena. Vikram Kaushik, Atul Rai, RS Sharma, Karnam Malleshwari, Virat Kohli, Sushil Kumar, Rajyavardhan Rathore, Murali Kartik, Suhel Seth, Nitish Kumar, Jyotiraditya Scindia, and Sheila Dikshit were among the prominent people present.

Speaking on the occasion, Rajdeep Sardesai, Editor-in-Chief, IBN18 Network, said, “CNN-IBN Indian of the Year Awards recognise the outstanding contributions of Indians in various categories. This initiative is an attempt to recognise the contribution of individuals who have stood first amongst equals.”

Dilip Venkatraman, Convener, CNN-IBN Indian of the Year 2008, and CMO, IBN18 Network, said, “I am extremely delighted with how the event has shaped up. We are thankful to the Jury, our Chief Guest, Minister for External Affairs Pranab Mukherjee, Guest of Honour, Speaker of Lok Sabha, Somnath Chatterjee, winners, guests and sponsors for making this event such a success.”

Winners of the CNN-IBN Indian of the Year 08 Awards include:

• CNN-IBN Indian of the Year & Public Service: G Madhavan Nair & Team Chandrayaan

• Lifetime Achievement: Dilip Kumar

• Politician of the Year: Nitish Kumar

• Sportsperson of the Year: Abhinav Bindra

• Business Person of the Year: Aditya Puri

• Entertainer of the Year: Aamir Khan

• Global Indian of the Year: AR Rahman

• Extraordinary Service to the Nation: (Late) Assistant Sub Inspector Tukaram Omble & Mumbai Police

• Special Achievement: Sheila Dikshit

The results were based on unanimous decision by a distinguished jury and public voting, who believe that the deservingness of the aforementioned should be recognised and rewarded.


Aparna Bhosle, Business Cluster Head - Premium & FTA GEC channels - ‎ZEEL, on its new property, sponsors, investment on acquisition and response to BBC First

In an interview with exchange4media, Ferzad Palia says that most successful brands are not those who spend the most money

As Milind Pathak takes over as Managing Director - Southeast Asia, Httpool, we chat with him on his new role, aspirations and his plans to aggressively penetrate the operations of the group in the Southeast Asian market

The group released the Little Hearts online-only campaign, #BreakSomeHearts, early this year and is on the path to make many more of its brands available on the digital platform

Though business has picked up, the private FM industry expects festive ad spends to be subdued compared to 2016