Top Story


Home >> Media - TV >> Article

Anna Hazare, Arvind Kejriwal are NDTV ‘Indian of the Year’

Font Size   16
Anna Hazare, Arvind Kejriwal are NDTV ‘Indian of the Year’

NDTV announced the Indian of the Year Award at a star studded ceremony held in Delhi on October 18, 2011. Anna Hazare and Arvind Kejriwal were declared as NDTV Indian of the Year 2011 for their exceptional contribution towards the society in the year gone by. Actor Dev Anand and cricketer Rahul Dravid were honoured with Lifetime Achievement Awards.

Speaking on the occasion, Pronnoy Roy, Chairman, NDTV said, “The Indian media today is the most fearless around the world. As part of the media, we are proud to be country’s fourth pillar. I feel it’s imperative now to have strong and effective defamation laws in the country.” He also added, “Media cannot be above the law.”

Meanwhile, MS Dhoni received the Indian Heroes Award along with his teammates and key members, including Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, S Sreesanth, Ashish Nehra, Virat Kohli, Ashish Nehra, Suresh Raina, Piyush Chawla and R Ashwin.

Entertainer of the year (Music) Award was given to the trio of Shankar, Ehsaan and Loy.

Nandan Nilekani received the award for Transformational Idea of the Year. He said, “I am confident that through project ‘Aadhar’ millions of anonymous people will get an identity. We also hope that people will value our efforts. We have already enrolled 100 million people and are in the process of adding more day by day.”

Special recognition was also conferred upon some RTI activists under ‘LIC Unsung Heroes’. Those were - Satish Shetty (Posthumous), activist Brijmohan Mishra and Vitthal Gite (Posthumous), Vishram Dodia (Posthumous), Dattatreya Patil (Posthumous) and Amit Jethva (Posthumous).

The awards were presented by Finance Minister Pranab Mukherjee, I&B Minister Ambika Soni, Minister of Rural Development Jairam Ramesh, BCCI President N Srinivasan, and DK Mehrotra, Chairman, Life Corporation of India.

‘NDTV Indian of The Year’ in its sixth successful year, honoured extraordinary Indians who have shown excellence in their respective fields like business, sports, entertainment and have done the nation proud.

Winners all:
Life Time Achievement Award - Dev Anand & Rahul Dravid
India’s Heroes - The 2011 Cricket World Cup Champions
India’s Icon of the Year – NR Narayana Murthy
Transformational Idea of the Year – Nandan Nilekani
Entertainer of the Year - Team Zindagi Na Milegee Dobaraa
Entertainer of the Year (Music) - Shankar, Ehsaan & Loy

Siddharth Kumar Tewary, Founder, Chief Creative, One Life Studios and Swastik Productions, on owning the IP on his most ambitious project 'Porus,' the risk of recovering its cost and his distribution strategy

Webscale plans to build the brand around smooth operations for the e-commerce sector and then move on to demand generation

Shriya Ghate, Business Head, Tinkle, spills the beans on the company's vision for its special line of merchandise launched to celebrate its 37th anniversary, its pricing, marketing strategies, and more

Vivek Patni, Director of Wonder Cement, on the current marketing strategies and challenges that brand owners face

Luis Fonsi, Rita Ora, Jain of Makeba fame , Dimitri Vegas, Jason Derulo, Charly Black and Dasu, J Balvin, Parineeti Chopra, Tiger & Jackie Shroff speak exclusively to the radio channel

The Film-Maker, as the host of ‘Calling Karan’, Will Be Just A Phone Call Away From Listeners Seeking Advice On Love & Relationship

The group aims to double its FMCG turnover to Rs. 1,000 crore over four years.