Top Story


Home >> Media - TV >> Article

Airtel Indian News Broadcasting Awards 2008 presented in Capital on August 22

Font Size   16
Airtel Indian News Broadcasting Awards 2008 presented in Capital on August 22

The first-ever Airtel Indian News Broadcasting Awards were held in the Capital at a glittering ceremony on August 22. Presented by the exchange4media Group, the Awards honoured some of the most well-known names in Indian television for their contributions to the industry. These included Dr Prannoy Roy, Ramoji Rao, Barkha Dutt and Arnab Goswami, among others.

Airtel is the title sponsor for the Awards, while TAM Media Research and Media Guru are the knowledge partners.

Oscar Fernandes, Minister of Labour & Employment, the Chief Guest for the occasion, gave away the prizes to the winners. Fernandes said in his address, “This is the first-ever annual awards programme to recognise the people in the broadcasting industry and I am sure that these awards will continue in the years to come. Initially, I was wondering what these broadcasting awards were all about. It’s a necessary step to recognise the best people in the media and broadcasting industry for their contribution towards the growth of the nation.”

The Airtel Indian News Broadcasting Awards had 12 categories and the winners were chosen by an eminent jury panel comprising Tarun Tejpal, Editor-in-Chief, Tehelka; Dr Alok Mehta, President, Editors Guild of India and Chief Editor, Nai Dunia; Prasoon Joshi, Executive Chairman, McCann-Erickson India; Santosh Desai, CEO and Managing Director, Future Brands; Rahul Kansal, Chief Marketing Officer, BCCL; Jehangir Pocha, Editor, Businessworld; broadcast media consultant Sanjay Salil; GVL Narasimha Rao, political analyst and Managing Director of a Delhi-based research consulting firm; and Smiti Ruia Kanodia, Founder of Paprika Media.

The detailed list of the winners is as follows:

1. Daring News Videographer 2008: Rakesh Negi, CNN-IBN

2. Innovative News Producer 2008: Ravish Kumar and Devna Dwivedi, Sach ka School, NDTV India

3. Investigative News Reporter 2008: Ashish Khetan, Headlines Today

4. Intelligent News Show Host 2008: Barkha Dutt, NDTV 24x7

5. Candid 1-on-1 News Interviewer 2008: Karan Thapar, Devil’s Advocate, CNN-IBN

6. Trusted News Anchor 2008: Dr Prannoy Roy, NDTV Network

7. Creative Editor-in-Chief 2008: Arnab Goswami, Times Now

8. Young Turk 2008 (under 30): Rahul Kanwal, Headlines Today

9. Professional Change Agent 2008: Sameer Manchanda, GBN

10. Strongest Regional Language News Broadcaster 2008: Mammen Matthew, Manorama News

11. Hall of Fame for Outstanding Lifetime Achievements 2008: Ramoji Rao, E TV Network

12. Entrepreneur of the Year 2008: Aveek Sarkar, MCCS (Star News, Star Ananda, Star Majha)


Markus Noder, Managing Partner, Serviceplan International, shared innovative tools, ideas and methodologies to generate tangible business values

The primary reason that led to growth of OTT is the constant improvement of internet speed and service across the country: Sandeep Gupta, ACT Fibernet

Siddharth Kumar Tewary, Founder, Chief Creative, One Life Studios and Swastik Productions, on owning the IP on his most ambitious project 'Porus,' the risk of recovering its cost and his distribution strategy

Webscale plans to build the brand around smooth operations for the e-commerce sector and then move on to demand generation

The Tata Group is considering review of its Public Relations mandate which is currently handled by PR firm Edelman in association with Rediffusion. The review is likely to happen post January 2018.

KVL Narayan Rao, Group CEO, and Executive Vice Chairman of NDTV passed away at 63 after battling cancer for two years

Week 44 (October 29-November 4, 2017) of RAM Ratings saw Big FM and Fever FM dominating Mumbai. Meanwhile Fever, Radio City and Radio Mirchi dominated Delhi, Bangalore and Kolkata respectively.