Top Story


Home >> Media - TV >> Article

Airtel INBA 2008: First ever Awards garner positive response from broadcast industry

Font Size   16
Airtel INBA 2008:  First ever Awards garner positive response from broadcast industry

The first ever Airtel Indian News Broadcasting Awards were held in the Capital at a glittering ceremony on August 22. Instituted by the exchange4media Group, the Awards honoured some of the most well-known names in Indian television for their contributions to the industry. Airtel is the main sponsor for these Awards, while TAM Media Research and Media Guru are the knowledge partners.

Chief Guest Oscar Fernandes, Minister for Labour & Employment, gave away the glittering trophies to 12 awardees. Speaking on the occasion, Fernandes said, “This is the first ever annual award programme to recognise people in the broadcast industry and I am sure that these Awards will continue in the years to come. Initially, I was wondering what the Indian News Broadcasting Awards were all about. It is a necessary step to recognise the best people and value of media and broadcast industry and what they have contributed towards the growth of the nation.”

The Airtel Indian News Broadcasting Awards 2008 had 12 categories and the winners were chosen by an eminent jury panel comprising Tarun Tejpal, Editor-in-Chief, Tehelka; Dr Alok Mehta, President, Editors Guild of India and Chief Editor, Nai Dunia; Prasoon Joshi, Executive Chairman, McCann-Erickson India; Santosh Desai, CEO and Managing Director, Future Brands; Rahul Kansal, Chief Marketing Officer, BCCL; Jehangir Pocha, Editor, Businessworld; broadcast media consultant Sanjay Salil; GVL Narasimha Rao, political analyst and Managing Director of a Delhi-based research consulting firm; and Smiti Rula Kanodia, Founder of Paprika Media.

The detailed list of the winners is as follows:

1. Daring News Videographer 2008: Rakesh Negi, Videographer CNN-IBN

2. Innovative News Producer 2008: Ravish Kumar and Devna Dwivedi, News Producer ‘Sach ka School’, NDTV India

3. Investigative News Reporter 2008: Ashish Khaitan, News Reporter, Headlines Today

4. Intelligent News Show Host 2008: Barkha Dutt, Group Editor, NDTV

5. Candid 1-on-1 News Interviewer 2008: Karan Thapar, Journalist, Devil’s Advocate, CNN-IBN

6. Trusted News Anchor 2008: Dr Prannoy Roy, Chairman NDTV Network

7. Creative Editor-in-Chief 2008: Arnab Goswami, Editor-in-Chief, Times Now

8. Young Turk 2008 (under 30): Rahul Kanwal, Executive Producer, Headlines Today

9. Professional Change Agent 2008: Sameer Manchanda, Managing Director GBN

10. Strongest Regional Language News Broadcaster 2008: Mammen Matthew, Editor and Managing Director, Manorama News

11. Hall of Fame for Outstanding Lifetime Achievements 2008: Ramoji Rao, CEO E TV Network

12. Entrepreneur of the Year 2008: Aveek Sarkar, Chairman MCCS (Star News, Star Ananda, Star Majha)

On winning the Award for Young Turk, Rahul Kanwal said, “I think the Award is a reflection and recognition of the work we are doing. The journey has just begun and we hope to improve ourselves to better levels and will hopefully win many more such awards in years to come.”

Arnab Goswami confessed, “I have never been to such awards. This is my first time ever and I feel it is a serious recognition for my team as the team has to believe in its editor. This Award is for my team and I am happy that we have been able to reach at this level in such a short time span.”

Sameer Manchanda reacted to winning the Award for Professional Change Agent by saying, “It feels great to receive this Award, and I believe behind every success there is team effort. This Award is recognition of the work we have done.”

Anil George, CEO, Manorama News, who received the Award for Strongest Regional Language News Broadcaster on behalf of Mammen Matthew, said, “We have won an Award on the national level, for which we have beaten a lot of competition along the way. We know that we are very good as far as regional news is concerned.”


Anil Uniyal, CEO, Bloomberg|Quint, on his business objectives, the reason behind pushing back the launch of the channel and more

Oracle India believes that marketing has entirely evolved because of the change in the buying process of customers

Dennis Oudejans, CEO, AdVoice, on the journey so far, targeted AdVoice networks and his vision for the company

Aparna Bhosle, Business Cluster Head - Premium & FTA GEC channels - ‎ZEEL, on its new property, sponsors, investment on acquisition and response to BBC First

Accessible luxury footwear brand Oceedee has launched its digital-first brand campaign to unveil its proposition - Strut Your Quirk

A stylish new global advertising campaign celebrating the art of living well – the ‘Art of Savoir-Vivre’ - brings to life the heart and soul of Belmond and its global travel experiences –a world full...