Radio operators’ body forms committees to tackle various issues

Radio operators’ body forms committees to tackle various issues

Author | Pallavi Goorha | Tuesday, Oct 23,2007 8:18 AM

Radio operators’ body forms committees to tackle various issues

At a recent general meeting of the Association of Radio Operators of India (AROI), the radio operators’ body formed committees to tackle various issues such as government relations, music, internal affairs, finance, awards and events, and even ‘radio evangelising’. All committees will submit their first reports to Apurva Purohit, President of AROI, by the middle of November. The committees would be headed by AROI members, while AROI Secretary General Uday Chawla would be part of all these committees.

The Government Relations (Regulatory) Committee will be headed by Prashant Pandey, CEO, Radio Mirchi, and Harrish Bhatia, CEO, Bhaskar Group. This committee will develop a self-regulating code of conduct and grievance mechanism. Commonwealth Broadcasting Association has offered help for formulating a model of code of conduct. Chawla said, “Our priority is to lobby for broadcast of sports news on private radio stations, followed by news and current affairs in the next phase. The committee will establish a rapport with the I&B ministry as well as other Government offices in this regard. It will also provide data, conduct studies, and present domestic as well as international reports to the Government.”

Tarun Katial, Chief Operating Officer, Big 92.7 FM, and Rahul Gupta, Director-Projects, Jagran Radio, will be heading the Music Committee. The committee will look after music copyright issue and work with various music labels to arrive at a consensual decision or legal recourse.

Apurva Purohit, CEO, Radio City, will head the Internal Affairs Committee. This committee will ensure that all its members follow the industry self-regulation, besides resolving any disputes among the members. It will also provide protection to its members in issues like infringement of titles, trademarks, trade names and copyrights, as well as take up all necessary legal action.

Abraham Thomas, CEO, Red FM, and Matrubhumi’s George Sebastian will head the Radio Evangelising Committee. This panel will work on ways to increase the radio industry’s advertising revenue by enhancing the perception of radio as an important medium for all advertisers. It will also work with the ad industry to develop benchmarks for collections and rates. The committee will also work on the development of advertising standards, industry self-regulation, etc.

ECM’s Ashok Narayan, who is also AROI Vice-President, will head the Financial Committee, which will focus on developing the technical framework for radio activity. It will also upgrade services in terms of transmission towers, tech support provided by the Government, coverage, clarity, etc, to enable further expansion of the radio service.

Nisha Narayanan of SFM, Monica Nayyar Patnaik of Eastern Media, and Gitanjali Sehgal of Century Communications would lead the Awards and Events Committee. The committee will promote excellence in radio advertising / communication and will also address various issues and challenges faced by the industry.

Chawla also informed that AROI is setting up annual radio awards.

Also see:

Strategic industry tie-ups come up for discussion at AROI general meeting

Tags: e4m

Write A Comment