Top Story


Home >> Media - Radio >> Article

Radio Mirchi and Red FM have a busy weekend with their award shows

Font Size   16
Radio Mirchi and Red FM have a busy weekend with their award shows

Radio Mirchi and Red FM had a busy weekend organising the Tata Indicom Mirchi Music Awards and the Bajaate Raho Awards 2008, respectively. Both these Awards served different purposes.

Radio Mirchi chose to honour the unsung heroes in the Indian film industry in the first edition of its Tata Indicom Mirchi Music Awards.

The jury members for the Tata Indicom Mirchi Music Awards included Prasoon Joshi, Anu Malik, Kailash Kher, Kavita Krishnamurthy, Kunal Kohli, Lalit Pandit, Louiz Banks, Ramesh Sippy, Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra, Shankar Mahadevan, Sadhana Sargam, Suresh Wadkar and Sonu Niigaam. The jury was led by chairman Javed Akhtar.

Film ‘Jodhaa Akbar’ bagged the highest number of awards, with the song ‘Jashn-e-Bahara’ taking home the ‘Song of the Year’, ‘Lyricist of the Year’ (Javed Akhtar), ‘Male Vocalist of the Year’ (Javed Ali). The other awards for ‘Jodhaa Akbar’ included ‘Female Vocalist of the Year’ (Bela Shende for ‘Manmohana’), ‘Technical Award for Song Mixing’ (Late H Shridhar), and ‘Technical Award for Film Background Score’ (AR Rahman).

‘Album of the Year’ went to ‘Jaane Tu ya Jaane Na’.

On Friday, March 27, 2009, Red FM held the fourth edition of Bajaate Raho Awards, which is in keeping with its theme ‘Bajaate Raho’. The aim was to celebrate ‘mediocrity’ and felicitate the worst of the lot across all fields – Bollywood, Music, Cricket, Television and City Special Awards.

The winners were decided after public voting in three metros – Mumbai, Delhi and Kolkata.

The winner in the Bollywood category included ‘Drona’ for the ‘Super pit Film Award’ and Harman Baweja for the ‘Baap ka naam doobo diya Award’. In the cricket category, the ‘On-field Dramebaaz Award’ went to Harbhajan Singh for hitting Sreesanth, while the ‘Cricket Gaya Tel Lene Award’ was presented to Vijay Mallya for giving more importance to cheerleaders than cricketers. The television winners included MTV Roadies’ Raghu Ram and Payal Rohatgi for judging Sambhavna Seth’s character in ‘Bigg Boss’.

The ‘City Special Awards’ were given to Mumbai’s Bandra-Worli Sea Link and Delhi’s Blue Line buses and ‘Kolkata ki shaan Award’ went to the Eastern metro’s bus drivers.

In a prepared statement, Red FM, COO, Abraham Thomas, said, “The Awards and the nominations are supposed to be taken lightly, and clearly the audiences today have a sense of humour to take it in the right spirit.”


Siddharth Kumar Tewary, Founder, Chief Creative, One Life Studios and Swastik Productions, on owning the IP on his most ambitious project 'Porus,' the risk of recovering its cost and his distribution strategy

Webscale plans to build the brand around smooth operations for the e-commerce sector and then move on to demand generation

Shriya Ghate, Business Head, Tinkle, spills the beans on the company's vision for its special line of merchandise launched to celebrate its 37th anniversary, its pricing, marketing strategies, and more

Vivek Patni, Director of Wonder Cement, on the current marketing strategies and challenges that brand owners face

Viacom 18 promises to announce new release date soon

Luis Fonsi, Rita Ora, Jain of Makeba fame , Dimitri Vegas, Jason Derulo, Charly Black and Dasu, J Balvin, Parineeti Chopra, Tiger & Jackie Shroff speak exclusively to the radio channel

The Film-Maker, as the host of ‘Calling Karan’, Will Be Just A Phone Call Away From Listeners Seeking Advice On Love & Relationship