O&M rules at 4th Mirchi Kaan Awards

O&M rules at 4th Mirchi Kaan Awards

Author | Jagadeesh Krishnamurthy | Saturday, May 19,2007 9:15 AM

O&M rules at 4th Mirchi Kaan Awards

Leading the way at the 4th Mirchi Kaan Awards, O&M won the ‘Agency of the Year’ award with its 19 metals that included one Gold, seven Silver and 11 Bronze awards. McCann Erickson followed closely with 14 awards that also included Gold. Rediffusion DY&R struck six metals, including a Gold. Overall, seven agencies bagged 47 awards in the course of the night.

The Special Awards announced had Prasoon Joshi recognised as ‘Copywriter of the Year’, Perfetti Van Melle as the ‘Client of the Year’, and Auto Edit as the ‘Production House of the Year’.

While O&M bagged Gold for its entry for Children’s Little Theatre, Perfetti’s Happy Dent Underwater Laughter earned McCann Erickson the Gold, and Rediffusion DY&R won the metal for its Sania Sprite radio creative. Other winning agencies included Brand David, Leo Burnett, Lowe Lintas and Mudra.

This year, Mirchi Kaan Awards are supposed to have received more than 600 entries, which are 50 more than the previous year.

Commenting on the significance of the medium, AP Parigi, MD and CEO, ENIL (Radio Mirchi), said, “With more and more FM radio stations going live each week, companies and brands can hardly afford to ignore the power of radio anymore. The creative excellence which has been demonstrated on radio in the last few years is set to scale new heights with the growth of radio, and we look forward to continuing to recognise and honour outstanding creative work in radio advertising.”

Prashant Panday, Deputy CEO, ENIL (Radio Mirchi), added, “Be it in terms of innovation, effects, acts or concept, radio advertising is maturing everyday. It is very encouraging to see the originality and ingenuity of the creative guys in these award-winning entries.”

The jury for the awards comprised advertising luminaries including Piyush Pandey, Mohammed Khan, Prasoon Joshi, R Balakrishnan, Ram Sampath, Ravi Deshpande, Rajat Dholakia, KV Sridhar, Elsie Nanjie, Ram Madhvani, Agnello Dias, Chakravarthi KS, Abhijeet Chaudhuri, Prahlad Kakkar and Rekha Nigam.

The official release also noted that Ernst & Young were the notaries and auditors for the awards.

Tags: e4m

Write A Comment