Top Story


Home >> Media - Radio >> Article

O&M and McCann Erickson shine at 5th Mirchi Kaan Awards

Font Size   16
O&M and McCann Erickson shine at 5th Mirchi Kaan Awards

The 5th Mirchi Kaan Awards, held in Mumbai on July 18, rang in sweet music for O&M and McCann Erickson, with both agencies jointly sharing the ‘Agency of the Year’ award. While O&M took home 17 metals, McCann Erickson won 11 metals. In all, 63 awards were given, including special awards.

O&M’s tally of 17 metals included 13 Bronzes and four Silvers. Leo Burnett India followed with 13 metals that included 11 Bronzes and two Silvers. McCann Erickson’s 11 metals comprised three Golds, four Silvers and four Bronzes. Mudra, too, bagged three Golds and a Bronze, bringing its tally to four metals.

The other winners included Publicis Ambience Advertising (two metals – one Gold and one Bronze); JWT India (two metals – one silver and one Bronze); Grey Group (one Silver); Contract and Bates David Enterprise (two Bronzes each); Everest Brand Solutions and Lowe Lintas (one Bronze each).

This year saw seven special awards being given out – including ‘Crystal Award’, which was given to Mudra for Cycle Agarbatti brand; ‘Best Voice Award’, given to Prasoon Joshi; ‘Best Sound Design Award’, given to Publicis Ambience Advertising’s Hit - Chinese Song; ‘Client of the Year Award’ was won by Chervolet U-VA (General Motors); ‘Production House of the Year Award’, given to Autoedit Productions; ‘Radio Writer of the Year Award’ was given to the McCann creative team.

The 5th Mirchi Kaan Awards had received more than 700 entries this year across 15 categories.

Speaking on the booming radio industry, AP Parigi, MD, ENIL (Radio Mirchi), said, “The radio industry is at an all time boom, and this bears testimonial to the fact that the industry has witnessed the launch of over 200 stations across 76 towns.” On the Kaan Awards this year, he said, “The Kaan Awards are a constant endeavour to remind companies and brands of the array of choices offered by radio.”

Prashant Panday CEO, ENIL (Radio Mirchi), added, “The Mirchi Kaan Awards aims to search, recognise and empower creative talents from advertising fields across India. This year, the theme was ‘March Against Mediocrity’.”

The jury for the Awards this year comprised advertising luminaries such as Prasoon Joshi, Piyush Pandey, R Balakrishnan, Ravi Deshpande, Mohammed Khan, KS Chakravarthi, Agnello Dias, KV Sridhar, Rajat Dholakia, Ram Sampath, Priti Nair, Rekha Nigam, Bobby Pawar, Shantanu Moitra, Ramanuj Shastry, Ashish Khazanchi, Gullu Sen, Prahlad Kakkar, Pradeep Sarkar, Josy Paul, Suguna, Swami, Senthil Kumar, Sunil Thoppil, Deepa Krishnan and Ramesh Ramanathan.

Ernst & Young were the notaries and auditors for the Awards, while the Ad Club Bombay lent its suppport in organising the judging process.


Kranti Gada joined the family business at Shemaroo in 2006 after a successful stint of over two years in marketing at Pepsi Co. She has been associated with the company for 12 years.

Exchange4media interacted with Jaspreet Chandok, Vice President and Head (Fashion) , IMG Reliance Pvt. Ltd on seamless brands integrations planned for Lakme Fashion Week, walking tall despite blazing trails like GST, demonetization and being a part of the larger cultural space

Their strategy to educate the consumers to make well informed decisions at all stages has worked out well.

Bobby Pawar, MD, CCO - South Asia, Publicis India, talks about his idea of chilling out

Launches third phase of TVC campaign ‘Think it. Done’

Based in Mumbai, Usha has nearly two decades of experience in the Indian media and entertainment sector and will serve as a strategic advisor to H+K’s diverse portfolio of clients with a special empha...

Report based on media channel data in 96 countries and detailed findings from the world‘s key ad markets, which between them account for approximately two-thirds of the value of global advertising tra...