McCann Erickson, O&M dominate Mirchi KAAN Awards

McCann Erickson, O&M dominate Mirchi KAAN Awards

Author | exchange4media Mumbai Bureau | Monday, May 08,2006 6:30 AM

McCann Erickson, O&M dominate Mirchi KAAN Awards

Entertainment Network (India) Ltd (ENIL) in association with Nokia has announced the winners of the third annual Mirchi KAAN Awards. McCann Erickson walked away with the Agency of the Year award, bagging 16 awards on the way, while O&M won 14 awards and Leo Burnett seven. The other agencies that won included Contract (four), Rediffusion DY&R (three), Everest Brand Solutions (two) and Hakuhodu Percept (one).

However, not many Golds were won – O&M got two for Fevicol and Hutch, while McCann Erickson got one for Pears. On the other hand, 25 Silvers were given out – of these, McCann got 11, O&M seven, Leo Burnett three, Everest Brand Solutions two, and Contract and Rediffusion DY&R one each.

Amongst the special awards, McCann won the ‘Agency of the Year’, NDTV won the ‘Advertiser of the Year’, Prasoon Joshi was ‘Radio Writer of the Year’, Piyush Pandey and Salim Ghouse both won ‘Radio Voice of the Year’, Rediffusion DY&R won ‘Crystal Award of the Year’, and Musica won ‘Production House of the Year’.

Sharing his thoughts on the occasion, Prashant Panday, Deputy CEO, ENIL / Radio Mirchi, said “This year, a record 550 entries were received from across India, compared to 350 entries received last year, for the only pure play radio advertising awards in the country. The Awards witnessed all the big agencies fighting it out for top honours, including the Golds for both Single and Campaign entries, the prestigious ‘Agency of the Year’ and the ‘Crystal Awards’. It is very encouraging to see the originality and ingenuity of the creative guys in these award-winning entries.”

Commenting on the potential of the medium A P Parigi, MD and CEO, ENIL / Radio Mirchi, said “Today, radio advertising has emerged out of the ‘By the way, I am around’ phase and is all set to make its presence felt. With more than 200 radio stations successfully auctioned by the Government of India this year, the canvas for the creative fraternity to weave their magic on radio has grown significantly.”

He further said, “What makes the third KAAN Awards really special is the fact that entries were received across agencies, including Ambience, Contract, Euro RSCG, Everest, JWT, Leo Burnett, Lowe, McCann Erickson, O&M, Percept, and Rediffusion, among others. It was a great feeling to have the crème de la crème of agency creative heads to be present for judging, truly a testament to the fairness and objectivity of the judging process of the KAAN Awards and the respect it commands with the ad agencies.”

Ernst & Young were the notaries and auditors for the Awards and the Ad Club Bombay lent its support in organising the judging process.

Radio Mirchi will sponsor two radio creative writers below the age of 30 to the Cannes Advertising festival. Furthermore, Radio Mirchi will refund the entry fees for the radio spots designated as winners in the Gold category at the KAAN Awards, provided the entry has already made its way to Cannes 2006.

The jury comprised advertising stalwarts and top-notch names in the business, including Abhijeet Choudhary, Agnello Dias, Elsie Nanjie, Gangadharan Menon, K S Chakravarthy, K V Sridhar, Mohammed Khan, Piyush Pandey, Prahlad Kakkar, Prasoon Joshi, R Balakrishnan, Rajat Dholakia, Ram Madhvani, Ram Sampath, Ravi Deshpande and Rekha Nigam.

Tags: e4m

Write A Comment